« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
The number of students from 1870 to 1876 is as follows: 40, 78, 153, 185, 191, 234.
The 150,000 acres of land granted by Congress for the support of an Agricultural College have been sold, or applied for, at an average price of $5 per acre. If paid up, there would be a fund of $750,000, which, at six per cent., would yield an annual revenue of $45,000. But in selling these lands, only 20 per cent., or $1 an acre, is required in cash, the remainder draws interest at the rate of ten per cent.; so that the income ought to exceed $50,000, or even $60,000.
In addition to this endowment, the State has given from the sale of tide lands an endowment fund sufficient to yield an annual income of $50,000-about $800,000, invested in State bonds. The endowment fund of the University may be set. down, in round numbers, at $1,500,000, and its annual income at $128,000.
IV. STATE NORMAL SCHOOL.
Under the appropriation of $3,000, by the Legislature of 1861-2, Ahira Holmes was appointed as Principal by a Board of Trustees, consisting of Superintendent Moulder, George Tait, Superintendent of San Francisco, and Dr. Taylor, Superintendent of Sacramento.
The school was opened in one of the vacant rooms of the San Francisco High School, July 21st, 1862, with 34 pupils, during the first term. The school was soon removed to rented rooms. on Post Street. Henry P. Carlton was elected VicePrincipal, and Miss Helen M. Clark and Miss Kate Sullivan teachers in the Training School.
The first graduating class, December, 1863, consisted of Bertha Comstock, Augusta P. Fink, Nellie Hart, and Louisa Mails.
In July, 1864, Miss E. W. Houghton was elected as an Assistant, and in July, 1865, George W. Minns succeeded Ahira Holmes as Principal. The school was removed to the rear of the Lincoln Grammar School, and Mrs. C. H. Stout was appointed Principal of the Training School.
The number of pupils, October, 1865, was 86. The School Law of 1865-5 made the State Board of Education ex officio a Board of Normal School Trustees.
At the first meeting, April 13, 1866, Professor Minns was granted a year's leave of absence, and H. P. Carlton elected Acting Principal. In 1867, Mr. Minns, concluding not to return from the East, resigned. Mr. Carlton continued Principal until July, 1867, when George Tait was elected Principal. Mr. Tait resigned in 1868, and was succeeded by W. T. Luckey.
Under the Act of April 4, 1870, Gov. Haight appointed a Board of Trustees, consisting of James Denman, J. H. Braly, C. T. Ryland, H. O. Weller, and A. J. Moulder, the Governor and State Superintendent being ex officio members.
This Board proceeded to erect a building at San Jose, completed in 1872, at a cost of $250,000.
In June, 1873, Charles H. Allen was elected Principal, vice W. T. Luckey, and J. H. Braly, Vice-Principal, vice H. P. Carlton.
At present, the school is filled to its utmost capacity-350 students-and is, in fact as well as in name, a Normal School.
The Board of Instruction, June, 1876, is as follows:
By the School Law of 1852, the State Board of Education was made to consist of the Governor, State Superintendent, and the Surveyor-General. The Surveyor-General was included because the law originally proposed to entrust the Board with the sales of school lands. This, however, was not done; and the State Board remained, up to 1864, without powers or duties,