The Small House at Allington

Передняя обложка
DigiCat, 13 нояб. 2022 г. - Всего страниц: 504
The Small House at Allington is the fifth novel in Anthony Trollope's series known as the "Chronicles of Barsetshire". It enjoyed a revival in popularity in the early 1990s when the British prime minister, John Major, declared it as his favourite book. The Small House at Allington concerns the Dale family, who live in the "Small House", a dower house intended for the widowed mother (Dowager) of the owner of the estate. The landowner, in this instance, is the bachelor Squire of Allington, Christopher Dale. Dale's mother having died, he has allocated the Small House, rent free, to his widowed sister-in-law and her daughters Isabella ("Bell") and Lilian ("Lily"). Lily has for a long time been secretly loved by John Eames, a junior clerk at the Income Tax Office, while Bell is in love with the local doctor, James Crofts. The handsome and personable, somewhat mercenary Adolphus Crosbie is introduced into the circle by the squire's nephew, Bernard Dale... Anthony Trollope (1815-1882) was one of the most successful, prolific and respected English novelists of the Victorian era. Some of his best-loved works, collectively known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire, revolve around the imaginary county of Barsetshire. He also wrote perceptive novels on political, social, and gender issues, and on other topical matters. Trollope's literary reputation dipped somewhat during the last years of his life, but he regained the esteem of critics by the mid-twentieth century.

Результаты поиска по книге

Избранные страницы


Pawkinss in Jermyn Street
The Time Will Come
The Combat
Væ Victis
See the Conquering Hero Comes
an Old Mans Complaint
Doctor Crofts Is Called
Doctor Crofts Is Turned

Mrs Lupex and Amelia Roper
Social Life
Lilian Dale Becomes a Butterfly
A Visit to Guestwick
John Eames Takes a Walk
The Last
Mr Crosbie Meets an Old Clergyman on His Way to Courcy Castle
Courcy Castle
Lily Dales First LoveLetter
The Squire Makes a Visit to the Small House
Dr Crofts
John Eames Encounters Two Adventuresand Displays Great Courage in Both
Lord De Guest at Home
Mr Plantagenet Palliser
A MotherinLaw and a FatherInLaw
Adolphus Crosbie Spends an Evening at His Club
Lord De Courcy in the Bosom of His Family
On My Honour I Do Not Understand It
The Board
John Eames Returns to Burton Crescent
Is It From Him?
The Wounded Fawn
Preparations for the Wedding
Domestic Troubles
Lilys Bedside
Fie Fie
Valentines Day at Allington
Valentines Day in London
John Eames at His Office
The New Private Secretary
Preparations for Going
Mrs Dale Is Thankful for a Good Thing
John Eames Does Things Which He Ought Not to Have Done
The First Visit to the Guestwick Bridge
Loquitur Hopkins
The Second Visit to the Guestwick Bridge
Not Very Fie Fie After
Showing How Mr Crosbie Became Again a Happy
Lilian Dale Vanquishes Her Mother
The Fate of the Small House
John Eames Becomes a

Другие издания - Просмотреть все

Часто встречающиеся слова и выражения

Об авторе (2022)

Anthony Trollope was born in London, England on April 24, 1815. In 1834, he became a junior clerk in the General Post Office, London. In 1841, he became a deputy postal surveyor in Banagher, Ireland. He was sent on many postal missions ending up as a surveyor general in the post office outside of London. His first novel, The Macdermots of Ballycloran, was published in 1847. His other works included Castle Richmond, The Last Chronicle of Barset, Lady Anna, The Two Heroines of Plumplington, and The Noble Jilt. He died after suffering from a paralytic stroke on December 6, 1882.

Библиографические данные