« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
from the base to the summit. This church, which Mr. Peck considers “
of the principal ornaments of Stamford,” was built at the expence of a Mr. John Brown, merchant of the Staple at Calais, who, with his wife lie buried at the upper end of the north aile. On a gilt brass plate in the wall is this inscription, “ Oraté pro animabus Johannis Browne, mercatoris Stapule Ca-' lisie & Margerie uxoris ejus. Qui quidem Johannes obiit' xxvio die mensis Julii an. dni, M,CCCCXLII; & que quædem Marge-' ria obiit 'xxii die Novenibris M,CCCCLX, quorum aninabus propitietur Deus. Amen." In St. Mary's chapel, where formerly stood tlte altar, are figures in brass of William Brown, who built and endowed the beac!-louse, and his wife ; with scrolls over their heads-“ X me spede," “ dere larly help at nede." Against the east window of this chapel is a white marble monument,' in memory of Mr. Thomas Truesdale, who lived in the same house that Mr. Brown did, and followed his example, by founding another almisliouse.
ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST'S CHURCH was rebuilt about the thirtieth year of Henry the Sixth, A.D. 1452.
, It consists of a nave and two ailes, with a chancel at the east end of each. They are separated from the nave and ailes by elegant screen work, and the roof bas been highly decorated with figures, carved both in wood and stone. The windows of this church, according to Mr. Peck, exhibited some admirable specimens of stained glass.
Besides religious foundations, Stanford had forinerly several others devoted to the tuition of youth. In the year 1109, Joffrid, Abbot of Croyland, deputed three monks from his monastery for this purpose. This was probably the foundation of the University, which has been the subject of much controversy. Camden* places the date of the establishment in the reign of Edward the Third; and Anthony Wood, in the year 1292 +. But
Britannia, Vol. II. p. 225.
+ As quoted by Mr. Peck, Lib. IX p. 22.
In the Charity School, situated also in St. Paul's Street, thirtysix boys are cloathed and educated; the expence of which are, in a great nieasure, defrayed by public contributions.
Browne's Hospital, so called from Mr. William Browne, an alderman and merchant of the staple, at Calais, was founded in the reign of Richard the Third, for a warden, confrater, and twelve poor men, and endowed with ample lands for their sup-' port. It is an handsome old building, situated on the north side of the corn market. In the chapel, at the eastern end, which was consecrated A. D. 1494, service is performed by the confrater twice every day. In the windows is much curious painted glass. The reven ies have greatly increased of late years, and the poor are comfortably provided for.
In the year 1770, St. Peter's gate being in a ruinous condition, was taken down, and near the site was erected St. Peter's Hose pital, a well contrived building, for the reception of eight poor men and their wives, whose age, to be admissible, must be more than sixty.
Truesdale's Hospital, for six poor men, who have three shillings and sixpence weekly, and an annual allowance of clothes and coals, is situated in the Scogate. Besides these, there are other charitable institutions, named Callises. St. John's Callis, adjoining Truesdale's Hospital, is for eight poor women. All Saints Callis, on St. Peter's Hill, is for twelve poor women. And Williamson's Callis, on the same hill, in the parish of All Saints, erected by Mr. G. Williamson, grocer, and endowed with lands by his widow, in the year 1772. This charity provides an asylum for sis poor widows, whose age, at admission, must be near forty-eight.
The civil business of the town is transacted in the Town HALL, a large insulated structure, standing near St. Mary's church. It was built by trustees, appointed under an act passed in the year 1776, for widening the road from the north end of the bridge to the Scogate, when the old Hall was taken down. The building has two liandsome fronts, and the whole is divided into twentytwo apartments, comprising the municipal rooms, the largest of
which is fifty-two feet long, twenty-five wide, and nineteen in height; a'guard room, house of correction, and a gaol.
The Theatre in St. Mary Street, a neat building, after the model of those in London, was erected at the expence of 8061. ip the
The river Welland is navigable to the town for boats and small barges. The town is supplied with water from Wolthorpe, whence it is conveyed by iron pipes. Stamford has two markets on Monday and Friday, and seven annual fairs. By the returns to parliament under the late act, the number of houses was 701, of inhabitants 4022.
Stamford Baron, though considered part of the town of Stamford, being separated from it only by the river Welland, over which is a stone bridge, is a distinct liberty and parish in the county of Northampton. Anciently this part of the town was called Stainford beyond the bridge, or Stamford south of the Welland. The first time the appellation of Stamford Baron Ocecurs on record, is about the year, 1455, being then part of the lands held per baroniam, by the Abbot of Peterborough, to distinguish it from the other part called the King's borough. During the Saxon period, in the reign of Athelstan, it enjoyed the privilege of a mint*, and was particularly favored by succeeding monarchs. King Edward the elder forrified the southern banks of the river against the Danes, whio frequently occupied the northern side; and built, according to Marianus, a strong castle in Stamfi rd Baron to prevent the incursions of that people from the north.'. Mr. Peck observes, he could not discover that it was, ever walled; yet it was defended by five gates and a castle. The latter stood on the verge of the Roman road, where now is the Nuns' farm. In Domesday book this place is mentioned as the sixth ward belonging to Stamford, and as being situated in Hantunescire.
* Stowe's Annals. This was a privilege granted to the Abbot of Medes. hamstede, and is mentioped in a charter of King Edgar to that monastery.