« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
north. . This is a large cruciform structure, having a nave, transepts, choir, and an embattled tower rising from the centre. This rests on new pointed arches, built within the ancient semicircular arches. The length from east to west is one hundred and forty-six feet; the width of transept seventy-seven; that of the nave twenty-seven feet six inches; of the chancel twenty-five feet six inches. The western and southern entrances exhibit curious remains of the Saxon style. The western doorway is formed by three retiring columns on each side, with zigzag, or chevron mouldings round the circular arch, which rest on square abaci. Two of the shafts on each side are plain, the others octagonal, with a zigzag ornament. Over this is a large west window, having a sharp pointed arch. On the western side of the north transept
old Saxon arch, and another with the ends of the moulding terminating in snake's head ornament. Round the inside of the chancel is a continued arcade, consisting of semicircular arches, with zigzag mouldings resting on plain columns. On the average, they are twenty-three inches wide, and divided by half columns, or pilasters, formed by three small shafts, into divisions of five, four, and five on each side. The sides are nearly uniform in style and ornament, and from many parts being similar to what appears in Malmsbury Abbey Church, in the county of Wilts, it is probable that this part was rebuilt by Bishop Alexander, subsequent to the time of Remigius*. The chancel appears to have been once vaulted; and within it are two stones, bearing Saxon characters, but illegible. On the floor is an ancient monument of coffin shape, with a head, or half bust, in relief, within an excavation. Inscribed are these letters :
is a very
. These are represented and described in the Architectural Antiquities of Great Britain, Vol. I.
Engraved on a copper plate, against a pillar, is this inseription :
Aspice respice, prospice. In this chauncel lyeth buried ye bodies of RICHARD BURGH, of StoweHall, Esq. & Ame his wife, descended fm the anc & noble familie of the Lord Burgh, Barou of Gainesborough, & next heyr male of that familie, & the sa Ane was the eldest daughter of Anthonie Dillington, of Knighton, in ye Isle of Wight, Esq. had 4 sons, viz. That noble and valiant soldyer, Sir John Burgh, Collonel Gen'rall of his Majø forces to the Isle of Rhe, in Franee, where he was slainė, A. D. 1627.
The above-named Richard died, A. D. 1616.
Coat of arms, three fleurs de lis, supporters two lions rampant, crowned with two hawks or falcons, with this motto:
Nec parvis sisto.
Against the south wall of the chancel is a mural stone, thus inscribed:
Neare unto this place lyeth buried the bodyes of Mr. Thomas Holo BECH, that sometyme dwelt in Stowe Parke, with Anne his wife, daughter of Anthony Yoxley, of Mellis, Esq. which said Anne deceased the 7th day of Sepł. An. Dom. 1581, and the sd Thoʻ. deced the 16th day of Aprill, 1591. And they left issue one only son, named Edward.
In the church, under the tower, was a large flat stone, inscribed in old letters, M,CCC,II. The pulpit is made of curiously carved oak. The clock is a piece of peculiar and curious mechanism, having a pendulum vibrating at longer intervals than is usual. But the most interesting object, after the church, to the antiquary, is a curious ancient Font. It stands upon a platform, ascended by two steps. The base, or pedestal, is square ; on which is carved a figure, in relief, of a wivern, or dragon*, intended as a personification of Satan, and allusive to his fall, by the efficacy of Christian baptism. The shaft is
A similar animal appears on the crest of Thomas, Earl of Lancaster : also on the reverse of his great seal. See Sandford's History, &c. p. 102.
circular, and surrounded by eight short pillars, with foliated capitals. The upper part is octagonal; and each face, or side, has an ornamental device.
Near the church are two sides of a quadrangular moat, which, it is supposed, surrounded either a palace of the bishop, or the old manor house. It is evident that the bishops had formerly a palace in this parish, as some records are still preserved, with the signature of the Diocessan, at his palace of Stow. " Here was a church, or minster, for secular priests, built to the memory of the blessed Virgin Mary, by Eadnorth, Bishop of Dorchester, and much augmented by the benefactions of Earl Leofric, and his Lady, Godiva. After the conquest, the religious here were changed into benedictine monks, under the government of an abbot, by Bishop Remigious, who got for them, of William Rufus, the desolate abbey of Eynsham, in Qxfordshire, whether his successor, Robert Bloet, removed them, reserving Stow, Newark, and some other estates, to the see of Lincoln, for which he gave them in exchange Charlbury, and others *.”
About one mile south-west of the church is
STOW PARK, which is now divided into four farms; and bere are still traces of a large moated place, which, according to tradition, inclosed the Bishop's palace. Considerable foundations of buildings have been found here.
ASLACOE EAST AND WEST WAPENTAKES Contain the parishes of Atterby, Cainby, Firsby east, Firsby west, Glentham, Hackthorn, Hanworth Cold, Normanby, Norton Bishop, Ownby, Saxby, Snitterby, Spridlington:- Blyborough, Cammeringham, Coates, Fillingham, Glentworth, Harpswell, Hemswell, Ingham, and Willoughton. In the parish of Hemswell is
0 1 3
* Tanner's Notitia.
SPITTAL IN THE STREET, taking the former name from having an hospital, and the latter as lying upon a Roman road. This place consists of a farm-house, an inn, a sessions-house, a chapel, and an almshouse for poor women.
Over the chapel, which is a small building, is this inscription :
Fui anno domini .. 1398
1594 Domus Dei & pauperum.
The hospital, to which the chapel is annexed, was founded before the sixteenth of Edward the Second, and augmented by Thomas Aston, canon of Lincoln, in the time of Richard the Second. It is under the protection of the dean and chapter of Lincoln. Against the wall is-Deo & DIVITIBUS, Ao. DNI. 1620. Over the sessions-house, Hæc domus dat, amat, punit, conservat, honorat, Equitiam, pacem, crimina jura bonos. 1620. Arms of Ulster. Over the door, Fiat Justitia, 1619. The manor belongs to the family of Wray, an ancestor of whom, who was Lord Chief Justice of England, built the sessions-house. i
Near Spittal is NORTON PLACE, a handsome seat of John Harrison, Esq. M. P. The house was built in 1776, from a design, and under the direction, of Mr. Carr, architect, of York. The interior of the mansion consists of elegant apartments, commanding fine views of the pleasure grounds, which are laid out with taste; and a handsome stone bridge, of three arches, over an extensive piece of water, gives a pleasing effect to the surrounding scenery.
In the parish of Fillingham is SUMMER CASTLE, a family mansion of the Wrays*. It was built of stone dug on the estate
* This family was anciently seated in the county of Durham, and possessed estates in the county of York. Sir Christopher Wray, Knight,
an the year 1760. The house is in the castellated form; square, with a circular bastion tower at each corner, and an embattled parapet. Standing on an eminence, the views from it are very extensive, bounded on the west by the Peak of Derbyshire, on the south by the high, lands of Leicestershire, on the north by those of Yorkshire, and on the east by the Lincolnshire Wolds. The park is well wooded, and the effect of the plantations greatly heightened by that animated appearance which water ever gives to sylvan scenery. In the grounds adjacent to the castle are evident marks of a Roman camp; for in digging have been found Roman coins, broken spears, swords, and bridle ornanients. In a stone coffin were discovered human bones, cased in searcloth and lead, with the vacancies filled up with liquid lime and alabaster. Fossil shells have also been dug up here, such as ophites, or cornua ammonis, and pyrites.
CORRINGHAM WAPENTAKE contains the parishes of Blyton and Wharton, Cleatham township, Corringham great and little, Ferry east, Gainsborough, Grayingham, Heapham, Kirton, Laughton, Lea and Lea-wood, Morton township, Northorpe, Pilham, Scotter, Scotton, Southorpe, Springthorpe, Stockwith East township, Walkerith township, and Wildsworth hamlet.
Though not a corporate, is a considerable market town, situated on the eastern bank of the Trent, and consists principally of one U 1 4
Lord Chief Justice of England in the time of Queen Elizabeth, on his first residence in this county, settled at Glentuorth; in which church is a tomb erected to his memory, with the effigies of the judge in his robes, and his lady by his side.