« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
able for his largeness of stature, and extraordinary strength. It is traditionally reported here, that one of the Ireland's * took him to London, and introduced him to the presence of King James the First, drest up in a very fantastic style. On his return from London, a portrait was taken of him, which is preserved in the library of Brazen-Dose College, at Oxford; and Dr. Ploit + gives the following account of him :-“ John Middleton, commonly called the Child of Hale, whose hand, from the carpus to the end of the middle finger, was seventeen inches; his palm eight inches and a half; and bis height nine feet three inches, wanting but six inches of the size of Goliath.”
ALLERTON-HALL, near the chapelry of Garston, is the seat of William Roscoe, Esq. the learned and elegant author of the Life of Lorenzo de Medici, and several other elegant literary works. The house is partly old, and partly modern, and commands a cheerful view of the broadest part of the Mersey river, with the highlands about Runcorn, in Cheshires. This estate formerly belonged to the family of Latham, of Allerton, and Par04
* In a MS. account before me, he is called Sir Gilbert Ireland, “who, with some of the neighbouring Lancashire gentry, dizened him off with large ruffs about his neck and hands, a striped doublet of crimson and white round his waist, a blue girdle embroidered with gold, large white plush breeches, powdered with blue flowers; green stockings; broad shoes, of a light co. lour, having high red heels, and tied with large bows of red ribbon; and just below liis knees were bandages of the same colour, with large bows; and by his side a sword, suspended by a broad belt over his shoulder, and em. broidered, as his girdle, with blue and gold, with the addition of a gold friuge upon the edge. We are traditionally informed, that his amazing size, at one time, frightened away sone thieves, who came to rob his mother's house.” In the dress just described he appears in his picture, in the possessiou of Mr. Blackburne, at Hale.
+ History of Staffordshire,
See View of the house annexed.
bold, near Ormskirk, who sold it to Alderinan Percival, of Livérpool, from whom it was purchased by John Hardman, who sold it to the present possessor.
In Garston is an old mansion, called AIDBURGH-HALL, which formerly belonged to the Tarleton family, and, after passing through different proprietors, came to John Tarleton, Esq. Several other handsome modern seats, and old hails, ornament the country south of Liverpool, and, on the high grounds east of the town, are numerous pleasant, and some elegant villas, belonging to the wealthy merchants of that prosperous sea-port. Indeed the environs of Liverpool, like those of London, and some other large cities and towns, are thickly covered with single houses, and rows of buildings; and clearly indicate to the passing traveller and foreigner, that domestic comforts and luxuries are the ultimate rewards of English industry and active talent.
The parish of WALTON, called Walton on the Hill, from the elevated situation of the church, comprehends a large tract of country north of Liverpool, and, besides the parish church, which is a rich rectory, has the chapelries of Formby, W. Derby, and Kirkby, dependant on, and subordinate to it: besides the townships of Toxieth-park, Croxteth-park, Bootle, Everton, Kirkdale, Fazakerly, Linacre, Simond's-wood, Raver's-Meals, &c. There was an ancieni family of Walton, of Walton; “ the last of the name, who owned all the lands in Walton, left three daughters, cobeiresses. By one of them, a third part passed to the family of Fazakerly, in whiich it continued till sold to the late Earl of Derby. Another part went to the Chorleys, of Chorley, but being forfeited in the rebellion of 1715, it was purchased by Mr. Crompton and others. The other third went to the family of Hoghton, of Hoghton-tower, by the descendants of which, most of the estate was sold to Mr. Atherton *."
* Description of the country round Manchester, p. 329.
SEFTON is a parish and manor, which formerly belonged to the Molyneaux family, who had a seat here, which they possessed from their Norman ancestor, William de Moulins, who settled here on the grant made him by Roger de Poictiers. Previous to the latter, this property was held by the Thanes, who were the gentry of the Anglo-Saxons *. The church at Sefton is a large and handsome pile of building, with a nave, two aisles, and a tower with a steeple. It is said that this building was erected in the time of Henry the Eighth, by Anthony Molyneaux, a rector of this place, and who was distinguished for his preaching, and for many acts of piety +. The chancel is divided from the nave by a screen, and contains sixteen stalls of elegant carving. In this place are deposited the remains of many of the Molyneaux family, and several curious and fine monuments are still remaining to perpetuate the race. Among these are two cross-legged figures in stone, with triangular shields; which, Mr. Pennant says, are expressive of their profession of Knight's Templars. These effigies are drawn in a book in the herald's office, from a fine pedigree sent them by Lord Sefton. Around an altar-tomb, of white marble, is an inscription in memory of Sir Richard Molyneaux, who died in 1439, and Joan his wife. He was Lord of Bradley, Haydike, Warrington, Newton, Burton-wode, and Newton-in-the-dale; disting isked himself in the battle of Agincourt, and received the honoar of knighthood from Henry the Fifth. Etfigies, in brass, are preserved of Sir William Molyneaux, and his two wives: he sig ialized bimself in three actions against the Scots, in the reign of Henry the Eighth, and in that of Flodden took two banners. The Lancashire archers contributed much to the victory: and Henry, under his own seai, sent Sir William a letter of thanks for his share of it. He died in 1548. The figures of Sir William Molyneaux (son of the last mentioned) with his two wives and thirteen children, are also expressed in brass plates. On a flat
* See Pengant's “ Tour from Downing to Alston-Moor,” 4to. 1801.
+ See Lodge's Irish Peerage.
stone is preserved the memory of Caryl Lord Molyneaux, an eminent, but unsuccessful royalist: his family raised a regiment of foot and another of horse in support of Charles the First; for which he was subjected to heavy penalties during the usurpation; but after the restoration was advanced to high honors. In the broken painted glass of the windows are some inscriptions, recording the respective makers: among them are, one to Molyneaux, dated 1542; another to Margaret Bulcley, daughter to Sir Richard Molyneaux, dated 1543; and a third to an Ireland of Lydiate, dated 1540.
Is a populous market and manufacturing town, which formerly belonged to the Canons of Burscough Priory, in the vicinity; and by a grant from Edward the First, to that religious house, was invested with the privilege of a market and fair. This grant was renewed and confirmed by Edward the Second. Leland's account of this place is very concise, as he says, there is “ a parish church in the town, no river by it, but mosses on each side.” The town now contains four principal streets, which intersect each other nearly at right angles: and the spinning of cotton for the Manchester manufactories, and thread for sail cloth, constitute the chief employ of the inhabitants. The patronage of the church, and the property of the manor, now belong to the Earl of Derby. A remarkable feature is given to the church, by a tower and steeple, being detached *. Withinside is a burial vault of the Derby family, who, previous to the dissolution of the monasteries, were interred at Burscough priory. Edward the Third Earl of
* This odd circumstance has never been satisfactorily accounted for; though it is traditionally reported, that it originated with two capricious sisters, who were desirous of raising some sacred memorial; and though they agreed to build a tower and steeple, yet they could not agree about uniting and connecting their works: but at length determined to erect both, detached from each other.