« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
ing from the models submitted to their discretion and judge ment *.
The TOWN-HALL, formerly called the Exchange, is a large regular pile of building, which was erected about the year 1750, from designs by Wood, of Bath; and its decorations strongly remind us of the shouy buildings of that city. The ground-fbor was intended for an exchange, and calculated to accommodate the merchants with Insurance Offices, &c. A considerable addition was made to this building some years back, and great progress was made in extending the offices; when the whole of the interior was destroyed by fire, in the year 1795. In consequence of this accident, the corporation resolved to rebuild it on a more extended and improved plan, and to appropriate the whole to judicial and other offices, for the police of the town, for. a mansion for the mayor, a suite of public assembly-rooms, and for all the ofñces devoted to the business of the corporation t. The ground story, on the south side, consists of a handsome entranceball, leading to a flight of stairs, a committee room, and a private room for the mayor; on the east side, are a vestibule, rooms for the magistrates and juries, and the town-clerk's offices; on the north side an entrance-hall, leading to the town-hall, or general sessions-room, to the rotation office, &c. On the principal floor is a grand suite of rooms, consisting of a saloon, thirty feet by twenty-six-a drawing-room, thiriy-three feet by twennty-six -a ball-room, ninety feet by forty-two-a second ballroom, sixty-six by thirty feet-a card-room, thirty-two feet by twenty-six, &c. The summit of this building is terminated by a dome, which is of modern construction, and ornamented with several columns. Round the frieze, and in the pediment of the
* The design and description of one of these models, by G. Bullock, display peculiar novelty and originality; and what constitutes its superior excellence, is the strict adherence to historical propriety and rational consistency in all its parts. It is truly English Art, employed to dignify English valour, According to the periodical publications, this design has been adopted.
+ In the annexed Print, two fronts of this building are dislpayed.
southern front, is a profusion of sculptured decoration, but executed in such a bad style, that it more disfigures than ornaments the building.
The first foundation stone of a NEW CORN EXCHANGE, in Brunswick-street, was laid on the 24th of April, 1807. This building is intended for a general resort of the corn-merchants, on the plan of the Exchange in Mark-lane, London; and, considerirg that Liverpool is the seat of the second corn-market in the lingdom, it is somewhat surprising that an establishment of this lind has not been instituted before. It will be a handsome structure, of plain Grecian architecture, with a stone front to Brunswick-street. Like the New Exchange buildings, it is erected by subscription; a fund of 10,000l. having been raised, by shares of 1001, each.
The Custom-House, situated on the south side of the Old Dock, has nothing peculiar to attract attention : and the Tobacco Warehouse, with various other commercial warehouses, are devoted to the stowage of various articles imported into this town.
Buildings appropriated to Religion, are numerous and various in this large and busy place of traffic; but I shall restrict my ra marks to those belonging to the protestant doctrines, and of these I must necessarily be concise. The most ancient, called St. NICHOLAS, or the OLD CHURCH,
low structure, having windows with pointed arches, and a small tower, crowned by a spire. Though called the Old Church, it does not excite curiosity; and its interior exhibits gloom, without grandeur. Near it formerly stood a statue of St. Nicholas, a tutelary deity of the maritime part of the place, to which sea-faring people usually made a peace-offering, previous to their embarking; and another, as a wave-offering, on their return, for the successful issue of the voyage.
ST. PETER'S CHURCH, built in 1704, is a plain structure, having a quadrangular tower, the upper story of which is octangular, terminated by eight pinnacles, in the form of candlesticks; with a gilt fane, shaped so as to resemble flame. ST. GEORGE'S CHURCH, which was finished in 1744, is more
is a very
systematically built, and partakes of a classical style. The body is formed by a doric range, bearing an attic entablature; with a parapet ornamented with vases. The windows for affording light, both to the aisles and galleries, are disproportionably large. On the south side is a wide handsome terrace, raised on six rustic arches. Though the eye may be reconciled to this by the situation of the ground, yet the mind is disgusted at its appropriation; for, like the outer court of the temple, in the degenerate days of the Jewish Church, this place is devoted to those who buy and sell. At the extremity of this terrace are two wings, consisting of octangular buildings; one of which is appropriated to the clerk of the market, and the other to a cell for confining delinquents!! The steeple consists of five tiers, or portions, ornamented with pilasters of the Doric, Ionic, Corinthian, and Composite orders ; and above the tower rises a lofty, tapering, octangular spire.
ST. THOMAS'S CHURCH, built in 1750, is better proportioned, but whimsical in its appearance. The body consists of a rustic base, having two tiers of windows; the upper calculated for a drawing-room, and the lower for a prison: nor is the large semicircular Venetian window, at the east end, in a happier style. The double Ionic pilasters attached to the sides, as they appear to have nothing to support, add little to its decoration. The tower is lofty, terminating in a well-proportioned spire, nearly half the height from the base : but its immediate and appropriate support consists of four couplets of Corinthian columns, on which, as though ashamed of their station, stare four crocket pinnacles, combined with vases. How far it might have been the design of the architect to hide the want of affinity between the dissimilar parts, in a Gothico-Grecian building, I cannot pretend to determine; the transition is less abrupt, though equally absurd. Nor can that motley style of architecture, observable here, and in other large places, so destructive of all genuine taste, be sufficiently reprobrated. To such incongruous designs, divested of all beauty, convenience, and harmony of parls, every lover of the arts must be decidedly hostile. For though a certain latitude, for the display of genius and science, may be, and ought to be, allowed ;
yet not so far as to group the most palpable incongruities. The rule is applicable here
Denique sit quod vis simplex duntaxat & unum."
St. Paul's CHURCH, which was erected at the public expense, and consecrated in 1769, is a miniature imitation of the great cathedral of London. On the west side a grand Ionic portico forms a suitable vestibule to the building, which is also of the Ionic order throughout. The base is rustic, the walls plain, terminated by a balustrade decorated, but not croudedly so, with plain neat vases. The dome is crowned with a lantern, and its finial a ball bearing a cross. Though the exterior of this building loses all appearance of grandeur, or beauty, to the eye that has dwelt on the desigus of St. Peter's at Rome, and St. Paul's at London, yet it assumes some importance and clegance when compared to tlie other modern churches of the town, or the generality of those sacred edifices that have been erected since the reign of Henry the Eighth. Its interior is more imposing than the exterior, from the disposition and character of the pillars that support the dome. Like most buildings with domes, or of circular arrangement, this is very unfavourable for the communication of sound: and the congregation is said to be very limited from this circumstance *.
St. Ann's Church was built by two proprietors, in 1770; and is remarkable for having its galleries supported by slender castiron pillars, which were the first employed for this purpose. The church is, very unusally, placed in a north and south direction.
St. John's Church was erected at the public expense, and was finished in 1784. The lower part of this, like that of St. Paul's, is appropriated to the public.
TRINITY CHURCH, built by private proprietors, and consecrated in 1792, is commodious, aud peculiarly neat.
* See a small view of this building in the Plan of the Town, published in « The British Atlas,"
CHRIST'S CHURCH is an handsome and spacious building, with two rows of galleries, and an Organ, very peculiarly constructed by Mr. Collins, of this town. This instrument is divided into two parts, at 14 feet asunder, and the organist is placed in the centre, with his face towards the congregation. The swell is behind him, on the floor, and the movements are beneath his feet. This church was built by an individual, at an expense of 15,0001.; and was consecrated to the protestant religion in 1800.
ST. MARK's Church is a large new building, built by subscription, at an expense of 16,000l. It will hold almost 2,500 persons, and was finished in 1803.
Here is a Welch Church, and a Scotch Church. But it would extend beyond the proper limits, to particularize all the religious, and other public buildings of this great town. Several of the Dissenter's Meeting-Houses are neat and comfortable structures; but what is called the Octagon claims the most notice, as it unites great convenience with some portion of dignity. Of charitable foundations, the BLUE COAT HOSPITAL claims the first notice. This made its appearance as a Charity-School, supported by annual subscription and donation, for the educating and maintaining 40 boys and 10 girls, A. D. 1709.-Not to blazon the amiable spirit of charity, but only to shew how one spark of generosity tends to enkindle the flame of benevolence, let it be observed, that the number now provided for, by this benevolent establishment, is upwards of 280.–And though the institution still, in a considerable degree, depends upon the same precarious plan for its support, yet, while it is so ably conducted, there can be little doubt of its continuing to receive additional assistance. The building consists of a large body, having two wings; the whole built of brick, and ornamented with stone. The expense of the establishment, in 1803, was 24821.---and the benefactions received amounted to 29131.
The public INFIRMARY is another charitable institution, conducted with that extended hand of liberality, which the nature of such charities, to render them beneficial, imperiously require.All persous, without distinction, are admitted, who come properly