Изображения страниц
PDF
EPUB

Visilor.
The Right Rev, THE LORD BISHOP OF CALCUTTA.

Principal.
Rev. John W. COE, D.D.

List of Principals. 1821. W. Hodge Mill, D.D. 1867. Thomas Skelton, M.A. 1841. G. Undy Withers, D.D. 1873. Robert M. Stewart, D.A. 1849. William Kay, D.D. 1875, Rev. John W. Coe, D.D.

amere College.

AFFILIATED, 1862. This Institution was opened originally as a School, which, after having been closed for several years, was re-established on a wider basis in the year 1851. On April 1st, 1868, it was raised to the status of a College, the instructive staff being at the same time augmented and improved to meet its wants.

The endowment is the “ Thomason Scholarship" of Rs. 8 per month for the most proficient scholar in mathematics. An annual donation of Rs. 500 from His Highness the Maharajah of Jeypore is distributed into Junior Scholarships, which are conferred on those whose merits are not quite such as to entitle them to the higher Government stipends. Connected with the College are a well-supported library, to which the late lamented Colonel Dixon, Commissioner of Ajmere, bequeathed many of his valuable works, and commodious boarding-houses for the reception of pupils from the District Schools.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF. Principal

J. F. Goulding. Head Master

T. Harris, B.A. Teacher of Mathematics

Shyamsundar Lal, B.A. Asst. ditto ditto

Pundit Amoluck Chund. And ten Junior Masters. Head Sanskrit and Hindi Teacher ... Misra Salug Ram Shastri. Head Arabic and Persian Teacher ... Maulvi Muhammed Hus

sen. And six Junior Oriental Teachers. Connected with the College is a Branch School in the City of Ajmere, opened on 1st May, 1876.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF. Head Master

M. Hazari Mull. And two English Teachers, seven Oriental Teachers, and two Monitors.

Bareilly Collegiate School.

AFFILIATED, 1862. This College is supported by Government, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, North-Western Provinces. It was opened as a School in 1836, and constituted a College in 1852.

The College is open to all classes on payment of an entrance and monthly tuition fee. The fee in School classes is eight annas throughout. It varies in the College Department from Rs, 2 to Rs. 3.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.
Head Master

E. A. Phillips.

Patna College.

AFFILIATED, 1862. This College is supported by Government, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Bengal.

It was opened as a Collegiate School in 1862, and raised to a College in 1864._All students are admissible who have passed the University Entrance Examination, and instruction is given up to the standard of the B. A. Examination of the University of Calcutta.

A Law Department was added in May, 1864, and a Lecturer was appointed.

There is an admission fee of Rs. 6; and a monthly tuition fee of Rs. 6 in the General Department, and of Rs. 7 in the Law Department. T'vo junior Scholarships, each of the value of Rs. 10 per month, and tenable for two years, were founded by Harbullub Narayan of Sonebursa. They can be held only by students from Bhagulpore High School who fail to gain Government Scholarships.

There is also a Pearson Scholarship of Rs. 10, tenable for two years, which is available only for students from Mozufferpore Zillah School.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.

General Department.
Principal

J. W. McCrindle, M.A.
Professor

Dr. G. Watt.
Ditto

E. D. Archibald, B.A., on furlo'
Asst. Professor ...

J. Bebrendt.
Lecturer on Mathematics . N. K. Basu, M.A.
Asst. Lecturer on Science. N. N. Basu, M.A.
Asst. Professor of Sanskrit Chhoto Ram Tiwari.
Head Maulvie

Syud Imdad Imam.

Law Department.
Law Lecturer

Nobinchandra De, B.A., B.L.

St. Xabier's College.

AFFILIATED, 1862. This Institution was established under the direction of the Society of Jesus, in January 1860, in the large building, No. 10, Park Street, formerly appropriated by the late Dr. Carew for St. John's College. Since 1868, the adjoining house enlarged and improved, forms part of the College.

Its object is to give to Catholic youths a full course of liberal education, and to train up their hearts to virtue. Pupils of other religious persuasions are also admitted on the same principle of non-interference as the old St. Xavier's College which broke up in 1846.

The College has an Infant class, a Lower and an Upper Scbool Departments, averaging over 400 pupils, and a College Department of about 90 to 100 students. The course of studies embraces all subjects up to the M. A. Standard.

Competitions are held during the year, and medals and prizes in books are awarded to the best scholars at the Christmas Examination.

A solar spectroscopic observatory, a meteorological observatory, and a splendid museum of Physical Science Instruments are attached to the College.

ture

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF. Retelicand Profr. of Mathes } Tiss. Very Revd. D. Van Impe, Professors of English Litera- sRevd. J. Henry, S.J., Prefect of

Studies.

Revd. A. Correya, S.J. Professor of Physical Science Revd. A. DePenaranda, S.J. Professors of Mathematics { . .

Revd. A. DePenaranda, S.J. Professor of Chemistry and Revd. V. Cumpignealles, S.J. Physical Geography

} Professor of Philosophy Revd. J. DeSmet, S.J. Professor of History

Revd. A. De Bie, S.J.
Professors of Latin

S Revd. J. Banckaert, S.J.
{

Revd. S. McGonagall, S.J.
Sanskrit

Pandit 0. C. Tarkalankara. Persian

Maulvie Mearajuddin Abmed.

List of Rectors.
Very Revd. J. De Vos, S.J., 1860.
Very Revd. H. Depelchin, S.J., 1864.
Very Revd. E. Lafont, S.J., 1871.
Very Revd. D. Van Impe, S.J., 1879.

...

St. John's College, Agra.

AFFILIATED, 1862. This College was established in 1850 in connection withi the Mission of the Church Missionary Society at Agra, chiefly at the instance of an influential body of Civilians and Military officers then forming the Committee of the Local Church Missionary Association, who wished to have an Educational Institution of a high order connected with the Mission.

The large and handsome gothic building in which the classes are now held, erected from the design of Major Kitto, was completed in 1853.

Scholarships. 1. The College is endowed with two Scholarships founded in memory of the late Mr. Thomason and bearing his name, value Rs. 10 per month ench and tenable for one year. These Scholarships are assigned at the annual Christmas Examination to the two most proficient students in English literature.

2. There are also two endowed Theological Scholarships founded in 1861, value Rs. 5 per month, and tenable for one year, assigned to the two students who show themselves best acquainted with the doctrines and principles of the Christian religion.

3. Other Scholarships, to the value of nearly Rs. 40 per month, are given from the general funds of the College for proficiency in English, Mathematics, Hindi, and Persian.

Fees. Every student is required to pay 2 rupees fee at entrance; and schooling fees ranging from annas 4 to Rs. 5 per month according to the income of his parent or guardian,

Principals.
1850. Rev. T. Valpy French, M.A.
1858. H. W. Shackel, M.A.
1861. J. Barton, M.A.
1863. C. Ellard Vines, M.A.
1878. J. A. Lloyd, M.A.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.
Principal

Rev. J. Lloyd, M.A. Head Master

A. H. Wright, Esq. Asst. Master

Babu Haricharan Chakrabarti.
Ditto

Babu Damin Lall, B.A.
Ditto

Mr. Samuel Thomas.
Ditto

Muttra Das.
Moulvie

Mauli Abdul Mahbud.
Pandit

Kali Das.
And others.

[ocr errors]

mensem.

Joy Narain's College, Benares.

AFFILIATED, 1862. A free school was founded in the year 1817 by Raja Joy Narain Ghosaul, Babadur, in gratitude for his recovery from a protracted illness.

He endowed it with a monthly sum of Rs. 200, to which Government added an endowment grant of Rs. 252-12 per

The founder appointed the Committee of the Sigra (Benares) Church Missionary Association, for the time being, trustees, with directions that they should “appoint such members as shall be able to satisfy the inquiries of the learned of this city on subjects of science, history, and religion."

In 1858 the spacious school-room, provided by Joy Narain, having been found insufficient for the number of students, the present building was erected ; at the same time the School was raised to a College, and named after the founder. The College Department was closed in 1875.

Scholarships.
Thomason

Rs. 52
Vankatacharya's

260
Munshi Situl Singh's...

200 Raja Sattya Anand Ghosaul's

60 Ditto ditto a gold medal, value

100
Dr. Muir's Sanskrit ditto

200
INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.
Principal

Rev. Brocklesby Davis, M.A.,

late fellow of St. Peter's Col.

lege, Cambridge.
Hend Master ...

Timothy Luther.
Second ditto

Bisheshwar Pandya. And ten English Teachers and 23 Teachers for the classical and vernacular languages of India.

[ocr errors]

Lahore Government College.

AFFILIATED, 1864. This institution was opened in 1864, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Panjab.

It is affiliated to the Calcutta University, but receives considerable grants for scholarships from the Panjab University College. By sanction of the Government, it prepares students both for the Panjab University College and the Calcutta University Exami. nations; and the Arts scheme of the former bas been so arranged as to make it possible for students to read for the examinations of both Institutions at the same time.

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »