Изображения страниц
PDF
EPUB

...

Department was abolished in 1875. It is open to all classes of the community, and any University undergraduate is admissible.

The foundation stone of the building, one moiety of the cost of wbich was paid by the community, was laid in 1863, and it was occupied in 1869.

There is attached to the College a Hindoo Hostel, the boarder's see being Rs. 4 for students, and Rs. 6 for teachers, per meusem.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF. Principal

G. Bellett, M. A. Offg. Principal

Babu Prasannakumar Sar

vadbikari. Professor

Haridas Ghosh. Asst. Professor of Sanskrit Madhabchandra Tarkasid.

dhanta. Lecturer Chemistry and Botany

Benimadhab Basu.
Head Master

Nilmani Ganguli.
Ten Teachers in the Collegiate School.

Principals.
1853. A. S. Harrison, B.A.
1856. A. Smith, M.A.
1858. R. L. Martin, M.A., Head Master in charge.
1858. S. W. Bradbury, ditto.
1859. R. L. Martin, M.A., ditto.
1861. R. Hand.
1875. G. Bellett, M.A.
1877. Prasannakumar Sarbadhikari (oftg.)

on

Bobeton College.

AFFILIATED, 1857. This College is attacbed to the Parental Academic Institution, a day and boarding-school which was established on the 1st March, 1823, by a body of Christian parents wbo were anxious to secure for their children the benefits of liberal education, its affairs being conducted by a Committee of Management elected chiefly from among the parents.

In 1855 2 lagacy of rupees Two Lakbs and Thirty Thousand was bequeathed to the Institution by the late Captain Jobn Doveton, which enabled the Committee of Management to extend its sphere of usefulness by the addition, in 1856, of an Infant School or Initiatory Department, and the establishment of a College Department, named in honor of the donor. A few years later a Girl's Department was added.

In 1871 other bequests were made to the Institution by the late Mr. Lawrence Augustus de Souza, of the Firm of Messrs. Thomas

de Souza and Sons of Calcutta. These consist, first, of the interest on a sum of rupees Three Lakhs, made permanently applicable to the maintenance and education of a certain number of boys and girls of East Indian parents of a certain class, who are admitted as boarders, on the “Lawrence de Souza Foundation,' at the age of 10, and kept at school till the age of 18; and second, of the interest on a sum of Rs. 15,000 for the establishment of a Scholarship in English literature, styled the “Lawrence de Souza Scholarship." It is of the value of Rs. 50 per mensem, and is tenable for one year at the Doveton College ; but it is open to any East Indian boy from any School or College, the successful candidate of one year being at liberty to compete for and hold the Scholarship from year to year until he graduates,

In addition to the above, Mr. L. A. de Souza bequeathed a further sum of Rs. 30,000, the interest of which is to be applied towards the education in England of an East Indian yonth of ability, with the view of enabling him to compete for the Covenanted Civil Service of India. This is open to any East Indian candidate, whether educated at the Doveton College or elsewhere. Chairman of Committee of Management.-H, Andrews.

Secretary.-J. E. Cooke,

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF. Prin. and Profr. of Classics and Pbil.. Rev.J. Robertson, M.A. Profr. of English and History Mr. C. A. Andrews, B.A.

(Cantnb). Profr. of Mathematics and Chemistry Mr. W. H. Thomson, B.A.

List of Principals. 1850. Rev. A. Morgan.

1869. R. Dick, M.A. 1855. George Sinith, LL.D. 1869. Rev, R. Robinson. 1859. J. W. McCrindle, M.A. 1870. A. Roberts. 1866. J. Sime, B.A.

1877. Rev. J. Robertson, M.A.

St. Paul's School, Darjeeling.

AFFILIATED, 1857. This School was founded in 1845, and was formerly located in Chowringbee, Calcutta. In 1863, the want of a good school in the hills was much felt, and Calcutta being well supplied with schools, the old premises were sold, and with the proceeds an estate was purchased in Darjeeling, and a new school bearing the same name as the school in Calcutta was built.

In 1858, two scholarships, worth 20 rupees a month, were founded as a memorial of Bishop Wilson, who bad been from the beginning a warm friend to the school. One is given erery year, and beld for two years.

[ocr errors]

In 1863, Mr. Patrik Arsor of Calcutta bequeathed to the sehool Rs. 3,500-Government securities 5 per cent.- to establish an “ Arson scholarship."

The school is managed by a Committee meeting in Caleutta, of which the Bishop of Calcutta is President and the Archdeacon Vice-president. The present Secretary is the Rev. Welbore MacCarthy, senior Chaplain of the Cathedral. There is also a Referree in Darjeeling, who inspects the accounts and consults with the Rector in emergencies.

The course of study is that prescribed by the University for its examinations for degrees in Arts, with the addition of religious training upon the principles of the Church of England.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.
R. Carter, Esq., B.A., Queen's
College, Oxforel

Rector and Ilead Master.
G, W. Scott, Esq., B.A., Cal-
cutta University

1st Assistant. C. Forsyth, Esq.

3rd Assistant. Second Assistant (vacant) and a Munshi.

List of Rectors. 1847. Rev. J. Kyd, M. A. 186 1. Rev. J. C. Nesfiell, M.A. 1829. Rev. S. Slater.

1866. Rev. G. M. Wilson, M.A. 1852. Rev. J. Richards, M. A. 1877. Rev. L. F. Phillips, M.A. 1855. Rev. G. Pridham, B. C. L.

(ofig.) 1859. Rev. W. Ayerst, M. A. 1878. R. Carter, Esq., B.A. 1862. Rev. F. C. Cardew, M.A.

Free Church Institution, Calcutta.

AFFILIATED, 1857. Originally established by Dr. Duff in August, 1830, for the education of native youths under the name of the General Assembly's Institution, and since 1843 desiguated the Free Church Iustitution, being supported by the Free Chureb of Scotland.

The Institution since 1875 bas been in a handsome new edifice, Nimtollab Street, wbich has been erected at a cost of upwards of £ 15,000.

It consists of two departments— College Department and a Preparatory School.

In the College Department all the branches of a higher erlucation in English Literature, Science, Philosophy, with Bengali and Sanskrit, are taught, in immediate connection with systematic instruction in the doctrines and evidences of natural and reveal. ed religion.

Scholarships. 1. There is an endowment of Rs. 80 per month for sm:ill Scholarships of Rs. 5 per month each, which are allotted only to those who pass the University Examinations,

2. There are two endowed Theological Scholarships, of Rs. 16 per month ench, called “the Duft Scholarships," designed for students who are candidates for the Christian ministry.

3. There is also an endowed “ Hawkins Scholarship," of Rs. 8 per month, founded by the liberality of the gentleinan whose name it bears.

Annual Prizes. 1. Endowed Prizes:-The Hawkins Gold Medal of Rs. 80, to the most successful student in the Iustitution.

The Macdonald Prize. The Ewart Memorial Prize of Rs. 50. The Kelloe Prize of Rs. 40 founded by the late Mr. Buchan of Kelloe,

These are usually allotted for the best essays on prescribedl subjects.

2. Besides these, prizes for general Scholarship and regular attendance are awarded in all the classes ; with several more for special exercises or essays.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.
Rev. William C. F'yfe, Principal. | Babu Chandrasekhar Sarkar,

Kenneth S. Macdonald, M.A. M.A.
John Hector, M.A.

Kalicharn Banerjee, M.A.
R. N. Macdonald, M.A. Umes Chundra Chatterjea.

Babu Brajanath Sarma. And twenty Teachers and Pandits in the School Department.

[ocr errors]

La Martiniere, Calcutta.

AFFILIATED, 1857. La Martiniere of Calcutta, together with similar Institutions at Lucknow and Lyons, was founded by General Clande Martin, a native of the latter place, and a General in the service of the King of Oude.

General Martin bequeathed a large sum of money to be devoted to the establishment of a school for the Christian inhabitants of Calcutta, under the direction of the Supreme Court. The School was opened on the 1st March, 1836, and was, according to the provision in General Martin's will, named " La Martiniere.''

By decrees of the Supreme avd High Courts, a body of Governors has been constituted, consisting of the Gorernor-General, the Lieutenant-Governor of Bengal, the Chief Justice of the High Court, the Bishop of Calcutta, the Commander-in-Chief, the Members of Council

, the two Senior Barrister Juilges of the High Court, the Advocate-General for the time being, and the Chairman of the Justices of Calcutta. The ex-officio Governors elect annually four other Governors, who, with one of the ex-officio Governors, form a Board of Acting Governors, to whom the general control of the Institution is entrusted.

By the decree of the Supreme Court, there must be upon the Foundation not less than 75 boys and 40 girls. The Foundationers are entirely supported from the funds of the School, and receive an apprentice-fee or other allowance on leaving the School.

The Foundationers are chosen from amongst the Christian population of Calcutta ; and must not be at the time of election less than four, or more than ten, years of age.

Boarders and Day Scholars are also received on payment of a monthly fee.

Acting Governors.
The Hon'ble H. Bell, C. S.
Colonel T. B. Harrison.
The Rev. G. S. Gillan, M. A.
The Hon'ble Sewell White.
The Rev. Welbore MacCarthy, Senr. Cathedral Chaplain.

Secretary and Medical Officer.
H. Cayley, Esq., Surgeon-Major, Indian Medical Service.

Head Master, F. J. Biden, M. A.

London Missionary Society's Institution,

Bhowanipore.

AFFILIATED, 1857. This Institution was founded by the London Missionary Society in the year 1838. In 1854 the large and handsome building now nised, consisting of a library, a ball, and sixteen class-rooms, was first opened.

The Institution is divided into three departments, viz., a College Department for undergraduates of the University, a School Department, and a Theological class for training Christian natives for missionary work.

The course of study comprehends English, Sanskrit, and Bengali Literature, Mental and Moral Philosophy, Mathematics, History, and Geography, together with the Sacred Scriptures and Christian evidences.

The number of students and scholars amounts to more than 700. A branch school at Behala, four miles to the south-west of Calcutta, contains 160 boys.

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »