Изображения страниц
PDF
EPUB

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF,
General Department.

Principal and Professor of Englisl.} Mr. C. H. Tawney, M.A.

Professor of Natural Philosophy } Mr. A. M. Nash, M.A.

Literature
Professor of Mental and Moral

Mr. Parry.
Philosophy and Logic
Professor of Natural Science

Mr. J. Eliot, M.A.
Professor of Chemistry

Mr. A. Pedler. Professor of History

Mr, A, E. Gough. and Astronomy

, Professor of Mathematics

Mr. W. Booth, B.A. Professor of English Literature

Mr. S. Robson, M.A. Professor of History

Mr. A. Clark Edwards. Professor of Sanskrit ...

Babu Rajkrishna Banerjen. Assistant Professor of Sanskrit

... Babu Nilmani Mookerjee,

M.A.
Law Department.

Mr. J. G. Apcar.

i Mr. W. F. Agnew. Lecturers in Law

3
Baboo Trailokyanath Mitra,

M.B. D.L.

Mr. Amir Ali, M.A.

C. E. Department. Professor, Civil Engineering Mr. S. F. Downing, B.A.,L.C.E. Professor, Civil Engineering Mr. J. S. Sluter. Professor of Mathematics

Mr. J. H. Gilliland, M.A. Professor of Drawing

Mr. C. Grant. Asst. Lecturer

Babu Dwarkanath Datta.

...

Hooghly College.

AFFILIATED, 1857. This Institution was founded in 1836, and was originally supported from funds bequeathed by Mahomed Mohsin, a wealthy Mabomedan gentleman, who, dying without heirs in the year 1806, left his large property, yielding an annual income of Rs. 45,000 to Mahomedan Trustees for the service of God.” Owing to the misappropriation of the funds, Government assumed 'the Office of Trusteeship. The right of assumption was opposed by the original Trustees, but upheld both by the Courts in India and by the Privy Council in England. The period of litigation extended over many years, during which the annual income accumulated, forming a surplus of Rs. 8,61,100. The surplus was devoted to the foundation and endowment of the Hooghly College, and was further increased by a portion of the original zemindaree that became available on the death of one of the Mootawallees of the Hooghly Imambarah, an Institution which also derives its support from Mahomed Mohsin's legacy. The College endowment was further increased by the accumulation of unexpended revenue, until the income amonnted to Rs. 51,000 per annum. In 1873, the Government of India resolved to transfer the whole of the Mohsin endowment to the purposes of Mahomedan education throughout Bengal, and accordingly increased the provincial assignment for education in Bengal by Rs. 50,000 a year, in order to meet the expenses of the Hooghly College, which has now become an Institution maintained by the Government.

The College consists of three Departments, an English, an Arabic, and a Law Department, and is under the control of the Director of Public lostruction, Lower Bengal. The English Department is open to all students who have passed the University Entrance Examination, the fees being one rupee per mensem for Mabomedans, and Rs. 6 for all others. In the Law Department the fee is Rs. 5 per mensem for the 1st year class, and Rs. 7 for the 2nd and 3rd year classes.

In 1846, a sum of Rs. 5,000 was given by Ranee Kuttianee, a Scholarships.

large landed proprietrers, for the founda

tion of a Senior Scholarship in the Hooghly College, to be competed for by the students of this Institution alone. Owing to some misapprehension, the Scholarship remained unawarded for some years, during which the principal was considerably increased by the accumulation of interest, so that it now yields an income of about Rs. 320 per annum; this being more than sufficient to support the existing Scholarship of Rs. 16 per mensem, it has been determined to open another, equal in value, as soon as the yearly savings afford an adequate fund.

Two Junior Scholarships, of Rs. 8 per mensem, are attached to Zemindaree Scholarship.

the Collegiate and Branch Schools,

preference being given to students of • D. C. Smyth, Esq. the latter. These Scholarships were Maharajah Dhiraj Mahtab Chand Babadoor.

founded in 1843, and are supported Baboo Dwarka Nath Tagore. by the surplus of the liberal contribuCallynath Moonsbee.

tions made by wealthy zemindars* of
Pran Chunder Roy. the district for the purpose of building
Sree Narayan Chowdry. the Branch School.
Ram Narain Mookerjee.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF,
Offg. Principal and Professor

} Mr. W. Griffiths, M.A. of Mathematics Professor of History and Eng. Rev. Lalbibari Day.

lish Literature Professor of Logic and English | Mr. J. Mann, M, A. Offg. Lecturer on Botuny Mr. W. H. Gregg, B.A., M.B.

Ong. Lecturer on Chemistry Mr. A. C. Dutt. and Physical Geography

Babu Nabinkrishna Mookerjee, Law Lecturer

M.A., B.L.
Asst. Profr. of Savskrit Babu Gopal Chunder Gunt:r.
Asst. Profr. of Arabic

Manlvi Abul Khair, AL.A.

Dacca College.

ArriLTATED, 1857. The College is supported by Government, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Lower Bengal.

It was originally opened as a school, by the General Committee of Pablic Instruction, in the year 1835. În 1841 it was converted into a College, whien a Principal was appointed, and an increase made to the staff of teachers. The College building was erected partly by publie subscription, in 1841.

Any undergraduate of the University may be admitted, and instruction is given up to the standard of the M. A. Examination in Honors of the University of Calcutti. Lectures in Law also are delivered, and students are prepared for the B. L. Examination.

Students in the General Department pay a monthly fee of Rs. 6, and in the Law Department, of Rs. 7.

A silver medal, called the Donnelly Prize, the value of the interest on Rs. 1,000 subscribed by the native assistants of the late Abkaree Commissioner's office, in memory of the late A. F. Donnelly, Esq., and a prize called the Lewis Prize, the value of the interest of Rs. 500, subscribed by students of the college, in memory of G. Lewis, Esq., one of the former principals of the college, are awarded annually.

Two Scholarships, called the Nowab Ahsanullah Scholarships, are held in the 3rd and 4th years respectively.

Under the control of the Principal are the Collegiate School and the Survey School. The staff of the former consists of a Head Master, 10 Anglo-Vernacular Masters, three Pandits, and two Maulvies; the latter, of a Head Master and one Assistant Master.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.

General Department.
Principal

A. Ewbank, M.A, on leave.)
Offg. ditto and Professor of
English Literature

} John Van Someren Pope, M.A,
Professor of Mathematics... M. Mowat, M.A.
Professor of Natural Science P. K. Ray, D. Sc.
Asst. Professor of English . W. B. Livingstone.

Asst. Professor of Sanskrit Bavu Somnath Mukhopadhyay. Lecturer on Mathematics... Muthuranatlı Chattopadhiya. Medical Officer and Lec.

turer on Chemistry and Priyanath Basu.

Botany
Lecturer on Arabic and
Persian

} Moulvie Shaik Golam Sobhan. LAW DEPARTMENT.

Babu Upendranath Mitra, M.A. Lecturer

{ Babul. Con leave.)

Babu Benimadhab Datta, M.A., Offg. ditto

B.L.

COLLEGIATE SCHOOL. Head Master ...

(Vacant.) Oftg. ditto

... Babu Kailaschandra Ghosh.

SURVEY SCHOOL. Head Master

Babu Haricharan Nag.

PRINCIPALS. 1841

J. Ireland, M.A. 1844

T. Wise, M.D. 1846

G. Lewis. 1866

W. Brennand (ofig.) 1856

L. Clint, B.A. 1857

W. Brennand (oftg.) 1857

W. Brennand. 1873

A. W. Croft, M.A. (offg.) 1874

A. W. Garrett, B.A. (oftg.) 1876

A. W. Garrett, B.A. 1875

A. Ewbank, M.A. 1878

J. V. S. Pope, M, A. (ofig.)

!

Krishnaghur College.

AFFILIATED, 1857. This College was founded by Government in 1845, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Lower Bengal.

Any person who has passed the University Entrance Examination may be admitted. Students pay a monthly fee of Rs. 6.

The College is a handsome building, standing upon 3 bighas of land, and surrounded by an enclosed compound of upwards of 100 more. It was erected in 1856 at a cost of Rs. 66,876 ; Rs. 17,000 of which was collected by private subscription. In consideration of the liberality thus manifested in the district, a donor of Rs. 1,000 is allowed to place a boy, free of expense, at the College in perpetuity, and another, for every Rs. 500 additional he may have subscribed. Part of the ground occupied was pnrchased by Government; for the remainder, the College is indebted to the munificence of the Maharaja of Nuddea and the Maharani Sarnamayi, of Cossimbazar.

In 1871, the B.A. classes (the third and fourth year classes) were abolished by Sir George Campbell, then Lieutenant-Governor of Bengal; and for some years the College only afforded instruction up to the First Examination in Arts. In 1875, however, Sir Richard Temple, on the petition of the chief inbabitants of the district, consented to restore the College to its former status, provided that a considerable share of the increased cost was subscribed for by the community. A sum, amounting to more than Rs. 40,000, was subscribed during the year, and with the endowment the College was re-established on its original footing.

INSTRUCTIVE STAFF.

General Department. Principal and Professor of

English Literature F. J. Rowe, M.A. Offy. ditto

W. H. Paulson, B.A. Professor

Babu Umeschandra Datta. Professor of Sanskrit Baba Nakuleswar Bandyopadhyay. Lectr. in Physical Science Babu Baradaprasad Ghosh, M.A.

Ditto Mathematics Babu Nilkanta Sarkar, M.A.
Ditto Chemistry Babu Anbikacharan Sen, M.A.

Law Department.
Law Lecturer

Babu Baranasi Ray, B.L.

Succession List of Principals. 1845. Capt. D. L. Richardson. | 1858. A. Smith, M.A. 1846. M. G. Rochfort.

1870. S. Lobb, M.A. 1855. E. Lodge, B.A.

1874. E. Lethbridge, M.A. 1857. J. Graves, M.A. (offg.) 1877. F. J. Rowe, M.A. 1857. L. Clint, B.A.

1879. W. A. Paulson, B. A.

(offg).

Berhampore College.

AFFILIATED, 1857. It was opened as a College in 1853.

It was raised to the status of a College, giving instruction up to the standard of the B. A. Examination of the University of Calcutta in 1865.

A Law Department was added in 1864. The status was, however, reduced in 1872, and instruction is now given up to the First Arts Examination of the University of Calcutta. The Law

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »