« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
} Mr. Parry.
Mr. J. Eliot, M.A. Professor of Chemistry
Mr. A. Pedler. Professor of History
Mr, A, E. Gough. Professor of Natural Philosophy
Mr. A. M. Nash, M.A. and Astronomy Professor of Mathematics
Mr. W. Booth, B.A. Professor of English Literature
i.. Mr. S. Robson, M.A. Professor of History
Mr. A. Clark Edwards. Professor of Sanskrit
Babu Rajkrishna Banerjen.
... Babn Nilmani Mookerjee, Assistant Professor of Sanskrit
Mr. J. G. Apcar.
i Mr. W. F. Agnew. Lecturers in Law
Baboo Trailokyanath Mitra,
( Mr. Amir Ali, M.A.
C. E. Department. Professor, Civil Engineering Mr. S. F.Downing, B.A.,L.C.E. Professor, Civil Engineering Mr. J. S. Slater. Professor of Mathematics
Mr. J. H, Gilliland, M.A. Professor of Drawing
Mr. C. Grant. Asst. Lecturer
Babu Dwarkanath Datta.
AFFILIATED, 1857. This Institution was founded in 1836, and was originally supported from funds bequeathed by Mahomed Mobsin, a wealthy Mabomedan gentleman, who, dying without heirs in the year 1806, left his large property, yielding an annual income of Rs. 45,000 to Mahomedan Trustees " for the service of God." Owing to the misappropriation of the funds, Government assumed 'the office of Trusteeship. The right of assumption was opposed by the original Trustees, but upheld both by the Courts in India and by the Privy Council in England. The period of litigation extended over many years, during which the annual income accumulated, forming a surplus of Rs. 8,61,100. The surplus was devoted to the foundation and endowment of the Hooghly College, and was further
increased by a portion of the original zemindaree that became available on the death of one of the Mootawallees of the Hooghly Imambarah, an Institution which also derives its support from Mahomed Mohsin's legacy. The College endowment was further increased by the accumulation of unexpended revenue, until the income amonnted to Rs. 51,000 per annum. In 1873, the Government of India resolved to transfer the whole of the Mobsin endowment to the purposes of Mahomedan education throughout Bengal, and accordingly increased the provincial assignment for education in Bengal by Rs. 50,000 a year, in order to meet the expenses of the Hooghly College, which has now become an Institution maintained by the Government.
The College consists of three Departments, an English, an Arabic, and a Law Department, and is under the control of the Director of Public lustruction, Lower Bengal. The English Department is open to all students who have passed the University Entrance Examination, the fees being one rupee per mensem for Mabomedans, and Rs. 6 for all others. In the Law Department the fee is Rs. 5 per mensem for the 1st year class, and Rs. 7 for the 2nd and 3rd year classes.
In 1846, a sum of Rs. 5,000 was given by Ranee Kuttianee, a Scholarships.
large landed proprietress, for the founda
tion of a Senior Scholarship in the Hooghly College, to be competed for by the students of this Institution alone. Owing to some misapprehension, the Scholarship remained unawarded for some years, during which the principal was considerably increased by the accumulation of interest, so that it now yields an income of about Rs. 320 per annum; this being more than sufficient to support the existing Scholarship of Rs. 16 per mensem, it has been determined to open another, equal in value, as soon as the yearly savings afford an adequate fund.
Two Junior Scholarships, of Rs. 8 per mensem, are attached to Zemindaree Scholarship.
the Collegiate and Branch Schools,
preference being given to students of • D. C. Smyth, Esq.
the latter. These Scholarships were Maharajah Dhiraj Mahtab
founded in 1843, and are supported Chand Babadoor. Baboo Dwarka Nath Tagore. by the surplus of the liberal contribu
Callynath Moonsbee. tions made by wealthy zemindars* of
Mr. W. Griffiths, M.A. of Mathematics Professor of History and Eng. Rev. Lalbihari Day.
lish Literature Professor of Logic and English } Mr. J. Mann, M.A. Offg. Lecturer on Botuny Mr. W. H. Gregg, B.A., M.B.
OF Maillomaliend Professor
Ony. Lecturer on Chemistry Mr. A. C. Dutt. and Physical Geography
í Babu Nabinkrishna Mookerjee, Law Lecturer
.M.A., B.L. Asst. Profr. of Sanskrit
Babu Gopal Chunder Gunt:r. Asst. Profr. of Arabie
Maulvi Abul Khair, AL.A.
AFFILIATED, 1857. The College is supported by Government, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Lower Bengal.
It was originally opened as a school, by the General Commitice of Public Instruction, in the year 1835. In 1841 it was converted into a College, when a Principal was appointed, and an increase made to the staff of teachers. The College building was erected partly by public subscription, in 1841.
Any unergraduate of the University may be aclmitted, and instruction is given up to the standard of the M. A. Examination in Honors of the University of Calcutti. Lectures in Law also are delivered, and students are prepared for the B. L. Examination.
Students in the General Department pay a monthly fee of Rs. 6, and in the Law Department, of Rs. 7.
A silver medal, called the Donnelly Prize, the value of the interest on Rs. 1,000 subscribed by the native assistants of the late Abkaree Commissioner's office, in memory of the late A. F. Donnelly, Esq., and a prize called the Lewis Prize, the valne of the interest of Rs. 500, subscribed by students of the college, in memory of G. Lewis, Esq., one of the former principals of the college, are awarded annually.
Two Scholarships, called the Nowab Ahsanullah Scholarships, are held in the 3rd and 4th years respectively.
Under the control of the Principal are the Collegiate School and the Survey School. The staff of the former consists of a Head Master, io Anglo-Vernacular Masters, three Pandits, and two Maulvies; the latter, of a Head Master and one Assistant Master.
General Department. Principal
A. Ewbank, M.A, on lenve.) Offg. ditto and Professor of
} John Van Someren Pope, M.A. English Literature Professor of Mathematics... M. Mowat, M.A. Professor of Natural Science P. K. Ray, D. Sc. Asst. Professor of Englislı . W. B. Livingstone,
Asst. Professor of Sanskrit Babu Somnath Mukhopadhyay. Lecturer on Mathematics... Muthuranath Chattopadhiya. Medical Officer and Lec.
turer on Chemistry and ,, Priyanath Basu.
} Moulvie Shaik Golam Sobhan.
Head Master ...,
s Babu Upendranath Mitra, M.A.,
B.L. (on leave.)
Babu Kailaschandra Ghosh,
Babu Haricharan Nag.
J. Ireland, M.A.
AFFILIATED, 1857. This College was founded by Government in 1845, and is under the control of the Director of Public Instruction, Lower Bengal.
Any person who has passed the University Entrance Examination may be admitted. Students pay a monthly fee of Rs. 6.
The College is a handsome building, standing upon 3 bighas of land, and surrounded by an enclosed compound of upwards of 100 more. It was erected in 1856 at a cost of Rs. 66,876; Rs. 17,000 of which was collected by private subscription. In consideration of the liberality thus manifested in the district, a donor of Rs. 1,000 is allowed to place a boy, free of expense, at the College in perpetuity, and another, for every Rs. 500 additional he may have subscribed. Part of the ground occupied was purchased by Government; for the remainder, the College is indebted to the munificence of the Maharaja of Nuudea and the Mabarani Sarnamay, of Cossimbazar.
In 1871, the B.A. classes (the third and fourth year classes) were abolished by Sir George Campbell, then Lieutenant-Governor of Bengal; and for some years the College only afforded instruction up to the First Examination in Arts. In 1875, however, Sir Richard Temple, on the petition of the chief inbabitants of the district, consented to restore the College to its former status, provided that a considerable share of the increased cost was subscribed for by the community. A sum, amounting to more than Rs. 40,000, was subscribed during the year, and with the endowment the College was re-established on its original footing.
General Department. Principal and Professor of
English Literature F. J. Rowe, M.A. Offy. ditto
W. H. Paulson, B.A. Professor
Babu Umeschandra Datta. Professor of Sanskrit Babu Nakuleswar Bandyopadhyay. Lectr. in Pbysical Science Babu Baradaprasad Ghosh, M.Ă.
Ditto Mathematics Babu Nilkanta Sarkar, M.A.
Babu Baranasi Ray, B.L.
Succession List of Principals. 1845. Capt. D. L. Richardson. | 1858. A. Smith, M.A. 1846. M. G. Rochfort.
1870. S. Lobb, M.A. 1855. E. Lodge, B.A. 1874. E. Lethbridge, M.A. 1857. J. Graves, M.A. (offg.) 1877. F. J. Rowe, M.A. 1857. L. Clint, B.A.
1879. W. 8. Paulson, B. A.
AFFILIATED, 1857. It was opened as a College in 1853.
It was raised to the status of a College, giving instruction up to the standard of the B. A. Examination of the University of Calcutta in 1865.
A Law Department was added in 1864. The status was, however, reduced in 1872, and instruction is now given up to the First Arts Examination of the University of Calcutta. The Law