Изображения страниц
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]


THERE is no novel of Anthony Trollope's which he has discussed with more candour than The Small House at Allington. It forms the chief theme of a chapter in his autobiography, where he traces its date and order, and its relation to the output of his other books, and discusses its heroine, Lily Dale, after his frank, complacent manner in recalling his literary pleasures and successes. There he brings us to the year 1862, in which his production was at its flood. Orley Farm was appearing in numbers during the early part of the year, and he was rather straining the patience of the editor and readers of the Cornhill Magazine by his Brown, Jones, and Robinson vagaries. His book on North America, it ought to be noted, appeared also in that year, to complete the list, and to overcrowd the market. A great deal then depended on this new book of his. Had it been in any way a disappointment to his audience, already beginning to yawn a little, it might have given a pretty conclusive stroke to his over-blown reputation.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

But the story, when it began to appear first in Cornhill in September, 1862, with Millais' admirably accorded and delightfully pictured illustrations, proved at once effective. As he said himself, he might have composed better stories than this, and might have portrayed two or three better characters than are to be found in its pages," but, taking it throughout, he had never done better work.

[ocr errors]

With regard to the character of Lily Dale, one which became almost chief favourite with his readers, out of all his created people, he said himself: 'In the love with which she has been greeted I have hardly joined, feeling that she is somewhat of a French prig." However, she was alive, and her troubles and her charms and her weaknesses helped to make Hence the stream of letters which Anthony Trollope received from correspondents, begging him to marry her to Johnny Eames. For the rest, and outside her fate and history, the novel he declared to be sound and good. The De Courcy family, and Sir Raffle Buffle, "hero of the Civil Ser

her so.

* 361


[ocr errors]

vice," whose kind of life Trollope knew so well, and the old squire down at Allington-all were well drawn. "Sir Raffle," said his chronicler, was intended to represent a type, not a man; but the man for the picture was soon chosen, and I was often assured that the portrait was very like. But," he adds significantly, "I have never seen the gentleman with whom I am supposed to have taken the liberty."

E. R.

The following is the list of the chief novels and other works of Anthony Trollope (1815-1882):

The Macdermots of Ballycloran, 1847; The Kellys and the O'Kellys, 1848; La Vendée, 1850; The Warden, 1855; Barchester Towers, 1857; The Three Clerks, 1858; Doctor Thorne, 1858; The Bertrams, 1859; Castle Richmond, 1860; Framley Parsonage (from Cornhill), 1861; Orley Farm, 1862; Rachel Ray, 1863; The Small House at Allington (Cornhill), 1864; Can you forgive her? 1864; Miss Mackenzie, 1865; The Belton Estate (Fortnightly), 1866; The Claverings (Cornhill), 1867; The Last Chronicle of Barset, 1867; Nina Balatka (Blackwood), 1867; Linda Tressel (Blackwood), 1868; He knew he was Right, 1869; Phineas Finn (St. Paul's Magazine), 1869; The Vicar of Bullhampton, 1870; Biography of Cæsar, 1870; Mary Gresham, 1871; Ralph the Heir, 1871; The Golden Lion of Granpère, 1872; Phineas Redux, 1873; The Eustace Diamonds, 1873; Henry Heathcote: a Story of Australian Bush Life, 1874; Lady Anna, 1874; The Way we live now, 1875; The Prime Minister, 1876; The American Senator, 1877; Is he Popenjoy? 1878; John Caldigate, 1879; An Eye for an Eye, 1879; Cousin Henry, 1879; The Duke's Children, 1880; Ayala's Angel, 1881; Dr. Wortle's School, 1881; The Fixed Period, 1882; Kept in the Dark, 1882; Marion Fay, 1882; Mr. Scarborough's Family (in All the Year Round at time of author's death).

Two novels, "The Land Leaguers" and "An Old Man's Love," were published posthumously, as well as an autobiography written 1875-6.

His books of travel include "The West Indies and the Spanish Main," 1859; "North America," 1862; " Australia and New Zealand," 1873, and "South Africa," 1878. His monograph on Lord Palmerston appeared in 1882.

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »