Изображения страниц

The Friends’ journa/O PHILADELPHIA, NINTH MONTH 12, 1885. co





. $2.50 | 8 copies, one year, $2.25 each. . 5 CentS 30 copies, one year, $2.00 each.

Cne Copy, one year,
Single numbers,


ADVERTISING RATES. For transient advertisements, 10 cents per line, one time, 7% Cents per line each insertion, two times. For longer insertion re‘duced rates, which will be furnished on application.

REMITTANCES by mail should be in CHECKs, DRAFTS, or POST-OFFICE MONEY ORDERs; the last preferred. Money sent us by mail will be at the risk of the person so sending.

***Communications should be addressed and payments made to JOHN COMLY, AGENT, at the Publication Office, No. 1020 Arch Street. Entered at the Post-Office at Philadelphia, Penna., as secondclass-matter.


PRE-ARRANGED SERVICE, * e g so o e - . 485
CAN THESE BONES LIVE 2 g to e * & o & . 486
SILENT SPIRITUAL WORSHIP, . & * & t e g . 486
Training for Service, g w * * s so g . 488
The Jewish Christians of Russia, . & g * g . 488
The Pennsylvania Marriage Law, * g to e . 489
MARRIAGES AND DEATHS, g to o g go g g . 489
Ohio Yearly Meeting, . g o & g go * . .490
The Meeting in Chicago, so e g e t o . 490
Easton and Garatoga Quarterly Meeting, . & o . 490
Temperance Meeting at Concord, e * o # . 491
Notes, . e to 491
What is Needed in Bible Classes, . e g e 9 . 491
The Great Need of First-Day Schools, . * te * . 491
Encouragement for Workers, to * * o o . 492
THE LIBRARY, . p o e so * 492
POETRY : THE Two ELIZABEThis, . g & wo * { } . 493
ASTRONOMICAL NOTES, . & to: & & e * e , 494
ORTHODOx FRIENDS, . . . . . . . . . 494
CURRENT EVENTS, . o to so g e * so o . 495
NEWS AND OTHER GLEANINGS to * & so so e . . 496

NOTICES, . e e go * * so & e * o . 496

A MOS HILLBORN do CO., Furniture, Bedding, Curtains.


Nos. 21 and 23 N. Tenth Street, and 912 and 914 Race Street, Phila.


Exhibit at all times a most extensive and comprehensive assortment of every description of


The stock includes Silks, Dress Goods, Trimmings, Hosiery and Underwear, Gloves, House-Furnishing Goods, Ready-Made Dresses and Wraps, and everything that may be needed either for dress or for house furnishing purposes. It is believed that unusual inducements are offered, as the stock is among the largest in the American market, and the prices are guaranteed to be uniformly as low as elsewhere on similar qualities of goods.




Ages, 4 to 12. Parental care. Thorough instruction. 13th year. Sarah E. Fell, Principal. Mechanicsville, Bucks Co., Pa.


A Boarding and Day School for girls of all ages, Will re

open ninth month 25th, 1885.


Chelten Hills will re-open ninth month (September) 16th, 1885. For Circulars, apply to E. W. and A. Heacock, Jenkintown Pa.

MA PLE WOOD INSTITUTE.—Concordville, Pa. Young men prepared for college or business. Degrees conferred upon young lady graduates. Timid and backward pupils privately tutored. Careful attention to little boys and girls. JOSEPH SHORTLIDGE, (Yale College), A. M., Principal.


WOODBURY, NEw JERSEY. THE Fall Term of this School will open 9th month 7th, 1885. For Circulars and further particulars, address, HENRY R. RUSSELL, PRINCIPAL, Woodbury, N. J.

FRIENDS HIGH SCHOOL. MOORESTOWN, N. J. FALL Term commences 9th month 7th, 1885. A select school for both sexes, comprising advanced elementary and Kindergarten departments. Board provided in private families. Convenient to railroad station. For circular and full particulars, address GEORGE E. MEGARGE, PRINCIPAL. Moorestown, N. J.


Thirty minutes from Broad Street Station, Philadelphia. Under the care of Friends, but all others admitted. Full college course for both sexes; Classical, Scientific and Literary. Also a Preparatory School. Healthful location, large grounds, new and extenSive buildings and apparatus. For Catalogue and full particulars, address, EDWARD H. MAGILL, A. M., PRESIDENT, Swarthmore, Pa.


Offers unusual advantages (full college and preparatory courSes) in General Science, Chemistry and Physics, Agriculture and Agricultural Chemistry, Modern Languages, Mechanic Arts, History and Political Science, Civil Engineering. Special Course in Literature and Science for Ladies. All tuition free. Fall term opens September 9th, 1885. Address, GEO. W. ATHERTON, LL.D., President, State College, Centre Co., Pa.


THE Fall and Winter Term of this Institution will commence on the 14th of Ninth Month, (September) next. The school has a healthy and beautiful location, with extenSive grounds, and has been uniformly successful since its establishment, twenty-five years ago. The advantages of an Academical and Collegiate education are fully Secured, and diplomas are granted. Terms, $180.00 per school year. For illustrated Circular, and Catalogue giving full particulars address the principal, RICHARD DARLINGTON, PH.D., West Chester, Penna.


Acre Building Sites in the vicinity of Media. Situate on the Providence Great Road, half-way between Wallingford and Media. No improvements. Apply to ISAAC. L. MILLER, 705 Walnut Street, Philadelphia.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic]


The Friends' journal.

INTELLIGENCER. Vol. xlii. No. 31.


JOURNAL. Vol. xiii. No. 659.

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

“Gather up the fragments that nothing may be lost.”— JoBN, 6: 12. N the sight of him, “from out whose hand the centuries fall like grains of sand” a hundred years may seem a little matter, but to us, whose allotted period of life is but three score and ten, it is an important consideration, and it may be profitable as well as interesting, for us to pause a moment amid the busy turmoil of life and take a retrospective view of the past, trusting the result may cause us to take fresh courage to carry forward the work our fathers so well began. We will begin by referring to the ground upon which we stand to-day, literally not spiritually. It is a matter of history that Pilesgrove took its name from Thomas Pile, who owned 10,000 acres in the township called after his name. In the 31st year of the reign of King George II.-1699, said Thomas Pile granted to William Hall 4,000 acres, and some years later the said William Hall granted to Joseph White 1,500 acres of the same. In the year 1720 Joseph White sold to Roger Huggins, Aquila Barber, Jos. White, Jr., and Edward Hews, one-half acre fronting the Main street for a burying ground, whereon was

iRead at the commemorative meeting, on the 22d ultimo, by Asa Engle.

erected in 1725 a frame house for worship, supposed near the site of the present dwelling built for the care-taker of the meeting house. In the year 1771 an additional half acre was bought of Aquila Barber at a cost of £10 2s. 6d., fronting on Main street and adjoining the first purchase, being the ground on which the present house now stands. They next bought of James James in 1783 one acre adjoining, back of their other property. In the year 1790 Jacob Davis sold them a narrow strip eight feet wide fronting the Main street, and four rods deep, for the completion of a carriage-way on the northeast end of the Meeting house. An additional half acre was bought in 1846 of Mary Ann and Esther Davis, being back of the present horse sheds. About the year 1849 Friends finding the house too small to accommodate the Quarterly Meeting an addition was built thereto. Passing from these matters we come to the history of the establishment, growth and development of what is commonly know as the “Woodstown Friends' Meeting,” and of some other matter closely connected there with. For the incidents of this history we are chiefly dependent upon the “Minutes of the Monthly Meeting of Men and Women Friends held in New Salem,” commencing in the year 1676, and which are in a fair state of preservation though Somewhat moth-eaten. Extracts from these were kindly made for us by Richard Acton, the Friend having them in charge, who will please accept our thanks therefor. We find that in the Eighth month, 1719, “Friends of Pilesgrove did request that they should have a First-day Meeting at the house of Roger Huggins.” which was allowed for the winter season only. In the Third month following “leave was given that the Friends at Pilesgrove should have a meeting every other First-day during the summer time; “again in the Eighth month leave was given” to hold a Firstday Meeting at Aquila Barber's house this winter time,” but in each instance it was stipulated that the First-day before the monthly meeting, they were to meet in Salem. A week day meeting was established at Pilesgrove the 25th of Fourth month, 1722. In the Eighth month, 1735, a preparative meeting was appointed to be held at Pilesgrove, and at Greenwich the last weekly meeting before the monthly meeting, and in the Ninth month, 1737, it was concluded that Friends of Pilesgrove and Cohansey may have liberty to keep their meetings every Firstday, both winter and Summer. 25th of Seventh month, 1785, Friends of Pilegsrove informed Salem Monthly Meeting that they had engaged in building a meeting house agreeably to the advice and consent of that meeting, and as the house was large requested some assistance. John Wister, William Abbott and John Redman were appointed to take subscriptions from Friends of Salem Preparative Meeting, and pay the money when collected to Friends of Pilesgrove. In the Fifth month following they reported a collection of £90, and were ordered to pay the same to Friends of Pilesgrove. 23d of the Second month, 1789, report was made that meetings had been held in Upper Penn's Neck, and leave was granted to continue them under the care of Elihu and Isaac Pedrick, and in the Eleventh month following they were again continued for three months under the care of Elihu Pedrick and Jacob Somers, and report when ended. At a monthly meeting held the 31st of the Fifth month, 1790, a minute occurs which we think worthy to copy entirely It reads thus: “This meeting, taking into consideration what further may be necessary on the subject of spirituous liquors, it appeared the sense of this meeting to appoint meetings for conference to be at each meeting—to be held at Pilesgrove the third day in next month, and to be deemed their week-day meeting for that Week. At Salem the Fourth-day following, and the committee heretofore appointed on the subject are directed to attend them and report to next meeting; to wit; J ohn Barnes, George Colson, Samuel Ogden, Elihu Pedrick, Jacob Haines, William Abbott, John Thompson, Jonas Freeland, William Carpenter, David Allen and Joseph Reeves,” who reported the month following that they were held at each meeting to satisfaction. The committee reported in Eighth month: “It appears there are none in the practice of importing or distilling spirituous liquors, three are in the practice of retailing of this destructive article, and that Friends have been mostly enabled to perform their various labors this season without the use of it, to their satisfaction.” e In the Eighth month, 1792, Pilesgrove Friends requested that the monthly meeting do circulate or be held one time at Salem and one time at Pilesgrove, which request was deferred various times, until the Twelfth month, when it appeared to be the sense of the meeting that the subject should for the present subside. But two months later, Pilesgrove Preparative Meeting reported that they apprehended that it would conduce to the growth of and presperity of truth to hold a separate monthly meeting at Pilesgrove: the consideration of which was deferred until the ensuing Fifth month, when the subject was proposed to the ensuing quarterly meeting for its advice and assistance. A committee of the Quarterly Meeting made a favorable report in writing, which, being divers times read and solidly considered, and many Friends expressing their submission to a division taking place, it appeared to be the sense of the meeting that a separate monthly meeting be held at Pilesgrove on the Fifth day proceeding the monthly meeting of Salem, and the quarterly meeting approving the division, a committee Was appointed to propose a mode of division of the stock, funds and all other

matters of interest, and also the poor, if any there be. John Barns, Abel Silver, George Colson, Benjamin Moore, Jos. Allen, Daniel Bassett, Jr., William Abbott, William Goodman, Thomas Goodman, Clement Hall, John Wistar and David Allen, were the committee. Pilesgrove being now (1794) a meeting of record, the continuation of the history must be sought for in the minutes of that meeting. These were found in the fire-proof at Race street, Philadelphia. According to these the first monthly meeting was held at Pilesgrove, Fourth month 24th, 1794, and was composed of both men’s and women's monthly meetings.

The Friends heretofore appointed elders were continued to the service, being Daniel Bassett, Jacob Davis, Elizabeth Bassett, Mary Colson and Ann Somers; and Deborah Bassett, and Jane Sharp, approved ministers. The Friends under appointment as overseers were continued to the service, being Samuel Ogden, John Barns and Elihu Pedrick. Daniel Bassett, Jr., was appointed to serve as clerk. The meeting at Penn's Neck was continued for another year under the care of Isaac Ward and Jacob Somers. The first representatives appointed to attend the Quarterly Meeting were Benjamin Moore, Aaron Lippincott, Asa Kirby and Isaac Ward. Abel Silver and Isaac Barber were appointed to have the oversight of the youth, etc., attending 5th month, 22d, 1794. Samuel Ogden and Joseph Allen were appointed to call on Thomas Goodwin for the writings belonging to this meeting. These writings seem to have been eventually lost or mislaid. 6th month, 25th, 1794, David Colson was appointed Treasurer. 9th month 25th, 1794, by a written report from the committee respecting spirituous liquors, it appears that Friends are mostly careful to gather their harvests and other concerns without the use thereof, greatly to their satisfaction, but they have to remark that there are two Friends who continue in the prac

tice of retailing and dealing in Spirituous liquors

among uS. 4th month, 25th, 1795, a committee was appointed to extend labor and seasonable advice to such as are in the use of spirituous liquors. 9th month, 21st, 1797, liberty was granted to hold a religious First-day Meeting in the school-house at Mullica Hill in every week during the space of four months (on trial), agreeable to a minute from Woodbury Monthly Meeting, allowing some of their members to join in holding said meeting. Benjamin Moore, Jos. Allen, Benjamin Heritage, and William Matlack, were appointed to have the oversight, and report to this meeting when ended. First month, 25th, 1798. Gideon Scull and Nathan Bassett were appointed to collect deeds and writings respecting the lots belonging to this meeting; which when collected were given to the care of Jacob DaWIS. 11th month, 17th, 1800, Woolwich Preparative Meeting was established, and joined to Pilesgrove Monthly Meeting. Paul Cooper, John Tatem, Elihu Pedrick, Thomas Enoch, Joseph Reeve, William Murphy, Barzillai Jefferies and Benjamin Reeve Were appointed to attend the same. First month, 26th, 1804. The committee on Suffering cases reported the amount of fines against eight Friends to be 4 pounds, 9 shillings and 4 pence, and the amount of property taken from them to make that sum was 31 pounds, 16 shillings 6 pence. These fines were for non-attendance at muster On training day; in regard to which Friends of that day were concerned to bear a faithful testimony, neither could they conscientiously pay the fines. A few years later a law was enacted, exempting from military duty in time of peace all members of fire engine companies. Many Friends availed themselves of this law and enrolled themselves as members of such associations, by this means avoiding smilitary service, and relieving themselves from needless extortions. Our friend George T. Haines, furnishes us with a minute of Gloucester and Salem Quarterly Meeting held at Salem, Fifth month 16th, 1785, which reads: “The holding of an afternoon meeting at Pilesgrove on the First day of the Yearly Meeting here being further considered, and divers Friends expressing their satisfaction with that meeting, it is continued to begin at half-past 3 o'clock, as heretofore.” It is apparent from this minute (which is also confirmed by other evidence) that the Yearly Meeting did upon more than one occasion hold its sessions at Salem. In 1794 the Quarterly Meeting was divided into Haddonfield and Salem Quarters. Our friend Jos. M. Truman, Jr., furnishes some extracts from the writings of our ancient worthies, showing that the meeting at Pilesgrove was not neglected nor forgotten in times past. Ephraim Tomlinson, an elder of Haddonfield, speaks of being at Pilesgrove eight times between the years 1764 and 1772. William Blakey visited the meeting in 1788 and again in 1803. Phebe Speakman in 1776, James Thornton and daughter-in-law in 1793, and in 1800 Hannah Yarnall and Lydia Jordan. Joshua Evens was at Pilesgrove in 1794, 1795 and 1796, John Hunt and cousin, William Hunt, of Carolina, in 1770, 1790, 1792, 1800, 1802, and in 1803 had a meeting in Nathan Lippincott's school-house. The following itemsgathered from different sources, forming a general history of the formation of the various meetings within the limits of Salem Quarterly Meeting, may be interesting at this time. At a general meeting held at Salem in the province of West Jersey, 11th of Second month, 1682, Salem Quarterly Meeting was established to be held the 3d Second-day of Ninth month next. 1686. At a Yearly Meeting held in Burlington the 8th of Seventh month it was ordered that the Monthly Meeting of Salem and the Monthly Meeting of Newton make one Quarterly Meeting. Which was continued until the opening of Woodbury Monthly Meeting in 1785, when it was held alternately at Salem, and Woodbury until 1837, when it was concluded to hold one at Salem, one at Woodbury and two at Woodstown, as they now are. Salem Monthly Meeting was established in 1676, and a brick meeting-house built at the grave yard in 1700. The present meeting-house at Salem was built

in 1772. Greenwich Monthly Meeting was established in 1770, but meetings were held there as early as 1684, and a meeting established there in 1694. Woodbury Monthly Meeting first held the 11th of First month, 1785. Held alternately at Upper Greenwich since 1845. The meeting at Woodbury was established at the house of John Wood in the Sixth month, 1696, and the meeting-house built soon after, Judge Carter in his history of Woodbury says 1715 or 1716. A small frame meeting-house was built for the accomodation of Upper Greenwich Friends on the Solomon Lippincott lot in 1740. The present meeting-house at Mickleton was builtin 1798. The school house was built there in the year 1808. Pilesgrove Monthly Meeting was established in the year 1794. An induiged meeting held for some time at Penn's Neck was continued by Pilesgrove Monthly Meeting.

A Friends Meeting was allowed to be held by Friends of Woolwich in the school-house at Mullica Hill in 1797, composed of Friends of Pilesgrove and Woodbury Monthly Meeting. Maurice River Monthly Meeting was established in 1805 and discontinued in 1855.



T has been my privilege to have access to an old book of records of this meeting, opening just one hundred years ago, at the time we have met here today to commemorate,_the time when this meeting was set off from Purchase, and established as Chappaqua Monthly Meeting. Inasmuch as it has been my privilege to peruse this old book, I feel that it is my duty—and a pleasant duty—to tell you briefly somewhat about the things that are recorded in it. It is a record of the women's meeting, and we naturally would not expect to find very much business claiming their attention, but we are surprised on opening the book, to find that each month's proceedings cover several pages; in fact on one occasion they were compelled to adjourn until the next morning, that they might have time to give proper attention to all the business that came before that monthly meeting. The meeting occupied itself in receiving new members, in treating with, and disowning offenders, in extending its particular care to the poor, and to those who had a prospect of moving away, and to those who were about to marry. We can not gather from the book how many members belonged to this meeting at that time, but during the twelve years which its record covers, we learn that seventy-Seven members were received on their own request, or the request of their parents; and that forty-nine were received by certificate from other monthly meetings. But to counterbalance this thrifty growth, we find that during the same time two hundred and four received removal certificates from this meeting, recommending them to other meetings. Remember, these figures refer only to the women's meeting. It is quite probable, however,

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »