« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
MAPLEWOOD INSTITUTE.- Concordville, Pa. E. & M. E. COPE, PLAIN AND FASHIONA
Young men prepared for college or business. Degrees conferred upon young lady graduates. Timid and backward pupils privately tutored. Careful attention to little boys and girls.
JOSEPH SHORTLIDGE, (Yale College), A. M., Principal.
ble Millinery, 446 Franklin Street, (formerly 212 Arch St.) Philadelphia. Moderate prices.
Woodbury, N. J.
LADIES' FINE SHOES, HAND-SEWED. OR
ders taken and executed with promptness.
915 Spring Garden St., Phila.
MOORESTOWN, N. J.
FRIENDS' HIGH SCHOOL.
Best Quality, Carefully Prepared. departments. Board provided in private families. Convenient
both sexes, comprising advanced elementary and Kindergarten
Delivered in Chute Wagons. AQUILA J. LINVILL, (late of Truman and Linvill), 1244 North Ninth Street.
to railroad station.
Movrestown, N. J.
ISAAC G. TYSON,—PHOTOGRAPHER,—HAS
removed all his negatives to his studio at West Grove, Penna. Orders for duplicates received by mail, or by R. A. Tyson, at the store of Friends' Book Association, 1020 Arch Street. Customers will please call on her before sitting elsewhere, as she is prepared to supply all their wants in any branch of the Art.
FROM FRANCE, GERMANY
Thirty minutes from Broad Street Station, Philadelphia. Under
More Fashionable Fancies.
More Ingenious Weavers.
THE Fall and Winter Term of this Institution will commence on the 14th of Ninth Month, (September) next.
The school has a healthy and beautiful location, with extensive grounds, and has been uniformly successful since its establishment, twenty-five years ago.
The advantages of an Academical and Collegiate education are fully secured, and diplomas are granted.
Terms, $180.00 per school year.
For illustrated Circular, and Catalogue giving full particulars address the principal, RICHARD DARLINGTON, PH.D.,
West Chester, Penna.
Acre Building Sites in the vicinity of Media. Situate on the Providence Great Road, half-way between Wallingford and Media. No improvements. Apply to
ISAAC L. MILLER,
705 M'alnut Street, Philadelphia.
Send your name and address, and we will mail.you our PHOSPHATE GUIDE.
BAUGH & SONS, 20 S. Del. Ave. Philada., Pa.
BY ELIZA M. HICKOK.
erected in 1725 a frame house for worship, supposed WE SHALL NOT PASS THIS WAY AGAIN.
near the site of the present dwelling built for the care-taker of the meeting house. In the year 1771
an additional half acre was bought of Aquila Barber “Whence came and whither bound are we?"
at a cost of £10 2s. 6d., fronting on Main street and Holds something still of mystery;
adjoining the first purchase, being the ground on But one grave thought is clear and plain,
which the present house now stands. They next We shall not pass this way again.
bought of James James in 1783 one acre adjoining, Why waste an hour in vain regret,
back of their other property. In the year 1790 Jacob For common ills that must be met?
Davis sold them a narrow strip eight feet wide frontWhy of the thorny road complain ?
ing the Main street, and four rods deep, for the comWe shall not pass this way again.
pletion of a carriage-way on the northeast end of the
Meeting house." An additional half acre was bought
in 1846 of Mary Ann and Esther Davis, being back of Each hath its secret grief or care,
the present horse sheds. About the year 1849 Friends Its burden that thou canst not share.
finding the house too small to accommodate the
Quarterly Meeting an addition was built thereto. The years glide by: stand strong and true!
Passing from these matters we come to the histoThe good thou canst, oh, quickly do!
ry of the establishment, growth and development Let gentle words sooth woe and pain, We shall not pass this way again.
of what is commonly know as the “Woodstown
Friends' Meeting,” and of some other matter closely -Christian Register.
connected therewith. For the incidents of this his
tory we are chiefly dependent upon the “Minutes of WOODSTOWN CENTENARY: HISTORICAL
the Monthly Meeting of Men and Women Friends SKETCH OF THE MEETING.1
held in New Salem," commencing in the year 1676, Gather up the fragments that nothing may be lost."- and which are in a fair state of preservation though JOHN, 6:12.
somewhat moth-eaten. Extracts from these were N the sight of him, from out whose hand the cen. kindly made for us by Richard Acton, the Friend
turies fall like grains of sand” a hundred years having them in charge, who will please accept our may seem a little matter, but to us, whose allotted thanks therefor. period of life is but three score and ten, it is an im- We find that in the Eighth month, 1719, “Friends portant consideration, and it may be profitable as of Pilesgrove did request that they should have a well as interesting, for us to pause a moment amid First-day Meeting at the house of Roger Huggins." the busy turmoil of life and take a retrospective view which was allowed for the winter season only. In of the past, trusting the result may cause us to take the Third month following“ leave was given that the fresh courage to carry forward the work our fathers Friends at Pilesgrove should have a meeting every so well began.
other First-day during the summer time; "again in We will begin by referring to the ground upon the Eighth month leave was given" to hold a Firstwhich we stand to-day, literally not spiritually. It day Meeting at Aquila Barber's house this winter is a matter of history that Pilesgrove took its name time," but in each instance it was stipulated that from Thomas Pile, who owned 10,000 acres in the the First-day before the monthly meeting, they were township called after his name. In the 31st year of
to meet in Salem. A week day meeting was estabthe reign of King George II.-1699, said Thomas Pile lished at Pilesgrove the 25th of Fourth month, granted to William Hall 4,000 acres, and some years
1722. later the said William Hall granted to Joseph White In the Eighth month, 1735, a preparative meeting 1,500 acres of the same. In the year 1720 Joseph was appointed to be held at Pilesgrove, and at GreenWhite sold to Roger Huggins, Aquila Barber, Jos. wich the last weekly meeting before the monthly White, Jr., and Edward Hews, one-half acre fronting meeting, and in the Ninth month, 1737, it was conthe Main street for a burying ground, whereon was
cluded that Friends of Pilesgrove and Cohansey 1Read at the commemorative meeting, on the 22d ultimo, by
may have liberty to keep their meetings every FirstAsa Engle.
day, both winter and summer. 25th of Seventh
month, 1785, Friends of Pilegsrove informed Salem matters of interest, and also the poor, if any there be. Monthly Meeting that they had engaged in building John Barns, Abel Silver, George Colson, Benjamin a meeting house agreeably to the advice and consent Moore, Jos. Allen, Daniel Bassett, Jr., William Abbott, of that meeting, and as the house was large requested William Goodman, Thomas Goodman, Clement Hall, some assistance. John Wister, William Abbott and John Wistar and David Allen, were the committee. John Redman were appointed to take subscriptions Pilesgrove being now (1794) a meeting of record, the from Friends of Salem Preparative Meeting, and pay continuation of the history must be sought for in the the money when collected to Friends of Pilesgrove. minutes of that meeting. These were found in the
In the Fifth month following they reported a col- fire-proof at Race street, Philadelphia. According to lection of £90, and were ordered to pay the same to these the first monthly meeting was held at Pilesgrove, Friends of Pilesgrove. 23d of the Second month, Fourth month 24th, 1794, and was composed of both 1789, report was made that meetings had been held men's and women's monthly meetings. in Upper Penn's Neck, and leave was granted to con- The Friends heretofore appointed elders were continue them under the care of Elihu and Isaac Pedrick, tinued to the service, being Daniel Bassett, Jacob Daand in the Eleventh month following they were again vis, Elizabeth Bassett, Mary Colson and Ann Somers; continued for three months under the care of Elihu and Deborah Bassett, and Jane Sharp, approved minPedrick and Jacob Somers, and report when ended. isters. At a monthly meeting held the 31st of the Fifth
The Friends under appointment as overseers were month, 1790, a minute occurs which we think worthy continued to the service, being Samuel Ogden, John to copy entirely It reads thus: “This meeting, tak- Barns and Elihu Pedrick. ing into consideration what further may be necessary Daniel Bassett, Jr., was appointed to serve as clerk. on the subject of spirituous liquors, it appeared the
The meeting at Penn's Neck was continued for anothsense of this meeting to appoint meetings for con
er year under the care of Isaac Ward and Jacob ference to be at each meeting—to be held at Piles
Somers. grove the third day in next month, and to be deemed
The first representatives appointed to attend the their week-day meeting for that week. At Salem the
Quarterly Meeting were Benjamin Moore, Aaron LipFourth-day following, and the committee heretofore
pincott, Asa Kirby and Isaac Ward. Abel Silver and appointed on the subject are directed to attend them
Isaac Barber were appointed to bave the oversight of and report to next meeting; to wit; John Barnes,
the youth, etc., attending 5th month, 22d, 1794. SamGeorge Colson, Samuel Ogden, Elibu Pedrick, Jacob
uel Ogden and Joseph Allen were appointed to call Haines, William Abbott, John Thompson, Jonas
on Thomas Goodwin for the writings belonging to this Freeland, William Carpenter, David Allen and Joseph
meeting. These writings seem to have been eventuReeves,” who reported the month following that they
ally lost or mislaid. 6th month, 25th, 1794, David were held at each meeting to satisfaction. The com
Colson was appointed Treasurer. mittee reported in Eighth month: “It appears there
9th month 25th, 1794, by a written report from the are none in the practice of importing or distilling
committee respecting spirituous liquors, it appears spirituous liquors, three are in the practice of retail
that Friends are mostly careful to gather their haring of this destructive article, and that Friends have
vests and other concerns without the use thereof, been mostly enabled to perform their various labors
greatly to their satisfaction, but they have to remark this season without the use of it, to their satisfac
that there are two Friends who continue in the praction."
tice of retailing and dealing in spirituous liquors In the Eighth month, 1792, Pilesgrove Friends re
among us. quested that the monthly meeting do circulate or be held one time at Salem and one time at Pilesgrove,
4th month, 25th, 1795, a committee was appointed
to extend labor and seasonable advice to such as are which request was deferred various times, until the Twelfth month, when it appeared to be the sense of
in the use of spirituous liquors. the meeting that the subject should for the present 9th month, 21st, 1797, liberty was granted to hold subside. But two months later, Pilesgrove Prepara- a religious First-day Meeting in the school-house at tive Meeting reported that they apprehended that it Mullica Hill in every week during the space of four would conduce to the growth of and presperity of months (on trial), agreeable to a minute from Woodtruth to hold a separate monthly meeting at Piles- bury Monthly Meeting, allowing some of their memgrove: the consideration of which was deferred until bers to join in holding said meeting. Benjamin the ensuing Fifth month, when the subject was pro- Moore, Jos. Allen, Benjamin Heritage, and William posed to the ensuing quarterly meeting for its advice Matlack, were appointed to have the oversight, and and assistance. A committee of the Quarterly Meet- report to this meeting when ended. ing made a favorable report in writing, which, being First month, 25th, 1798. Gideon Scull and Nathan divers times read and solidly considered, and many Bassett were appointed to collect deeds and writings Friends expressing their submission to a division
respecting the lots belonging to this meeting; which taking place, it appeared to be the sense of the meet- when collected were given to the care of Jacob Daing that a separate monthly meeting be held at Piles
vis. grove on the Fifth day proceeding the monthly meet- 11th month, 17th, 1800, Woolwich Preparative ing of Salem, and the quarterly meeting approving Meeting was established, and joined to Pilesgrove the division, a committee was appointed to propose a Monthly Meeting. Paul Cooper, John Tatem, Elibu mode of division of the stock, funds and all other Pedrick, Thomas Enoch, Joseph Reeye, William Mur
phy, Barzillai Jefferies and Benjamin Reeve were af- in 1772. Greenwich Monthly Meeting was estabpointed to attend the same.
lished in 1770, but meetings were held there as early First month, 26th, 1804. The committee on suf- as 168+, and a meeting established there in 1694. fering cases reported the amount of fines against Woodbury Monthly Meeting first held the 11th of eight Friends to be + pounds, 9 shillings and 4 First month, 1785. Held alternately at Upper Greenpence, and the amount of property taken from them wich since 1845. The meeting at Woodbury was esto make that sum was 31 pounds, 16 shillings 6 pence. tablished at the house of John Wood in the Sixth These fines were for non-attendance at muster on month, 1696, and the meeting-house built soon after, training day; in regard to which Friends of that day Judge Carter in his history of Woodbury says 1715 were concerned to bear a faithful testimony, neither or 1716. A small frame meeting-house was built for could they conscientiously pay the fines. A few years the accomodation of Upper Greenwich Friends on the later a law was enacted, exempting from military Solomon Lippincott lot in 1740. The present meetduty in time of peace all members of fire engine ing-house at Mickleton was built in 1798. The school companies. Many Friends availed themselves of this house was built there in the year 1808. Pilesgrove law and enrolled themselves as merabers of such as- Monthly Meeting was established in the year 1794. sociations, by this means avoiding inilitary service, An induiged meeting held for some time at Penn's and relieving themselves from needless extortions. Neck was continued by Pilesgrove Monthly Meeting.
Our friend George T. Haines, furnishes us with a A Friends Meeting was allowed to be held by minute of Gloucester and Salem Quarterly Meeting Friends of Woolwich in the school-house at Mullica held at Salem, Fifth month 16th, 1785, which reads: Hill in 1797, composed of Friends of Pilesgrove and "The holding of an afternoon meeting at Pilesgrove Woodbury Monthly Meeting. Maurice River Monthon the First day of the Yearly Meeting here being ly Meeting was established in 1905 and discontinued further considered, and divers Friends expressin." in 1855. their satisfaction with that meeting, it is continued to begin at half-past 3 o'clock, as heretofore.” It is
CHAPPAQUA CENTENARY. apparent from this minute (which is also confirmed by other evidence) that the Yearly Meeting did upon
PAPER READ BY JONATHAN C. PIERCE. more than one occasion hold its sessions at Salem. In
1794 the Quarterly Meeting was divided into Haddon- IT has been my privilege to have access to an old
field and Salem Quarters.
, Our friend Jos. M. Truman, Jr., furnishes some ex- hundred years ago, at the time we have met here totracts from the writings of our ancient worthies, day to commemorate,—the time when this meeting showing that the meeting at Pilesgrove was not ne- was set off from Purchase, and established as Chappaglected nor forgotten in times past.
qua Monthly Meeting. Ephraim Tomlinson, an elder of Haddonfield,
Inasmuch as it has been my privilege to peruse speaks of being at Pilesgrove eight times between the this old book, I feel that it is my duty-and a pleasyears 1764 and 1772. William Blakey visited the ant duty-to tell you briefly somewhat about the meeting in 1788 and again in 1803. Phebe Speakman things that are recorded in it. in 1776, James Thornton and daughter-in-law in 1793, It is a record of the women's meeting, and we and in 1800 Hannah Yarnall and Lydia Jordan. Jos- naturally would not expect to find very much buşihua Evens was at Pilesgrove in 1794, 1795 and 1796, ness claiming their attention, but we are surprised on John Hunt and cousin, William Hunt, of Carolina, in opening the book, to find that each month's proceed1770, 1790, 1792, 1800, 1802, and in 1803 had a meeting | ings cover several pages; in fact on one occasion they in Nathan Lippincott's school-bouse.
were compelled to adjourn until the next morning, The following itemsgathered from different sources, that they might have time to give proper attention forming a general history of the formation of the va- to all the business that came before that monthly rious meetings within the limits of Salem Quarterly meeting Meeting, may be interesting at this time.
The meeting occupied itself in receiving new At a general meeting held at Salem in the province members, in treating with, and disowning offenders, of West Jersey, 11th of Second month, 1682, Salem in extending its particular care to the poor, and to Quarterly Meeting was established to be held the 3d those who had a prospect of moving away, and to Second-day of Ninth month next.
those who were about to marry. 1686. At a Yearly Meeting held in Burlington the We can not gather from the book how many 8th of Seventh month it was ordered that the Month- members belonged to this meeting at that time, but ly Meeting of Salem and the Monthly Meeting of during the twelve years which its record covers, we Newton make one Quarterly Meeting. Which was learn that seventy-seven members were received on continued until the opening of Woodbury Monthly their own request, or the request of their parents; Meeting in 1785, when it was held alternately at and that forty-nine were received by certificate from Salem, and Woodbury until 1837, when it was conclu- other monthly meetings. But to counterbalance this ded to hold one at Salem, one at Woodbury and two thrifty growth, we find that during the same time at Woodstown, as they now are.
two hundred and four received removal certificates Salem Monthly Meeting was established in 1676, from this meeting, recommending them to other and a brick meeting-house built at the grave yard in meetings. Remember, these figures refer only to the 1700. The present meeting-house at Salem was built women's meeting. It is quite probable, however,