Nikolay Myaskovsky: The Conscience of Russian Music

Лицевая обложка
Rowman & Littlefield, 2014 - Всего страниц: 395
Gregor Tassie describes Nikolay Myaskovsky as "one of the great enigmas of 20th-century Russian music." Between the two world wars, the symphonies of Myaskovsky enjoyed great popularity and were performed by all major American and European orchestras; they were some of the most inspiring symphonic works of the last hundred years and prolonged the symphonic genre. But accusations of "formalism" at the 1948 USSR Composers Congress resulted in the purposeful neglect of his music until the collapse of the Soviet Union. Myaskovsky wrote some of the most inspiring symphonic works of the last hundred years and prolonged and extended the symphonic genre. In Nikolay Myaskovsky: The Conscience of Russian Music, Tassie gives readers the first modern English-language biography of this Russian composer since his death in 1950. Tassie draws together information from the composer's diaries and letters, as well as the memoirs of friends and colleagues--even his secret police files--to chronicle Myaskovsky's early life, subsequent far-reaching influence as a composer, teacher, and journalist, and his final persecution by the Soviet government. This biography will surely rekindle interest in Myaskovsky's remarkable body of work and will interest aficionados, students, and scholars of the modern classical music tradition and history of the arts in Russia.

Отзывы - Написать отзыв

Не удалось найти ни одного отзыва.

Другие издания - Просмотреть все

Об авторе (2014)

Gregor Tassie writes regularly for Musical Opinion, Classical Record Collector, and Gramophone and has worked as a consultant for BBC Radio and in documentary film. He is the author of Yevgeny Mravinsky: The Noble Conductor (2005) and Kirill Kondrashin: His Life in Music (2010), both published by Scarecrow Press.

Библиографические данные